Parliament Website


EDM number 356 in 2002-03, proposed by Jonathan Sayeed on 11/12/2002.

That this House notes that the Government proposes to fund the additional costs to Gloucestershire County Council, as a result of implementing Article 16(2) of EC Regulation 2037/00 on Ozone Depleting Substances, in the period from 1st April 2002 to 31st March 2003, by means of a special grant allocation of ú363,805; further notes that the estimated actual cost by Gloucestershire County Council for the storage and disposal of redundant refrigerators during this time period is ú661,500; and in addition to the estimated cost to Cotswold District Council, Forest of Dean District Council, and Stroud District Council of ú24,000, ú30,000 and ú22,000 respectively, unknown costs for the collection of redundant refrigerators are also being incurred by Cheltenham Borough Council, Gloucester City Council and Tewkesbury Borough Council; recognises thereby that the total extra cost in Gloucestershire County Council is in excess of ú737,500; and, in view of the statement by the Minister for the Environment, the Right honourable Member for Oldham West and Royton on local authority funding that 'We are ... taking the realistic view that if extra duties are imposed they should be reasonably funded. That is the Government's policy' (HC Official Report, 14th January, column 125), calls upon the Government to make clear how it intends to fund the shortfall in Gloucestershire which will not be less than ú373,695.

This motion has been signed by a total of 23 MPs.

Jonathan Sayeed11/12/2002Mid BedfordshireConservativeProposed
John Hayes11/12/2002South Holland & The DeepingsConservativeSigned
David Lidington11/12/2002AylesburyConservativeSigned
James Gray11/12/2002North WiltshireConservativeSigned
Bob Spink12/12/2002Castle PointConservativeSigned
Tim Loughton16/12/2002East Worthing & ShorehamConservativeSigned
Sue Doughty16/12/2002GuildfordLiberal DemocratSigned
Caroline Spelman17/12/2002MeridenConservativeSigned
Andrew Murrison17/12/2002WestburyConservativeSigned
Bill Wiggin17/12/2002LeominsterConservativeSigned
Howard Flight18/12/2002Arundel & South DownsConservativeSigned
Angela Watkinson18/12/2002UpminsterConservativeSigned
Peter Duncan18/12/2002Galloway & Upper NithsdaleConservativeSigned
Anne McIntosh19/12/2002Vale of YorkConservativeSigned
John Randall07/01/2003UxbridgeConservativeSigned
Nigel Jones13/01/2003CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Hunter14/01/2003BasingstokeIndependent ConservativeSigned
Peter Luff16/01/2003Mid WorcestershireConservativeSigned
Philip Hammond25/02/2003Runnymede & WeybridgeConservativeSigned
Edward Garnier17/03/2003HarboroughConservativeSigned
Nigel Evans19/03/2003Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Andrew Selous24/03/2003South West BedfordshireConservativeSigned
Julian Lewis31/03/2003New Forest EastConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.