Parliament Website

Federation Of Racecourse Bookmakers

EDM number 705 in 2002-03, proposed by Anne Moffat on 10/02/2003.

That this House notes the intention of the Government to approve the imposition of a 10 per cent. profit charge by the British Horseracing Board upon members of the Federation of Racecourse Bookmakers who constitute the independent on-course bookmakers at racecourses throughout the UK; further notes that the on-course bookmakers will be disproportionately affected by the imposition of the charge and do not have the ability to cushion or absorb the 10 per cent. levy; and calls on the Government either not to proceed with the imposition of the 10 per cent. gross profit charge proposed to limit any charge to that currently paid by members of the Federation of Racecourse Bookmakers.

This motion has been signed by a total of 19 MPs.

Anne Picking10/02/2003East LothianLabourProposed
Anne Picking10/02/2003Proposed
David Hamilton10/02/2003MidlothianLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin11/02/2003Heywood & MiddletonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Adrian Sanders11/02/2003TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Ronnie Campbell12/02/2003Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
John Cummings12/02/2003EasingtonLabourSigned
Harold Best12/02/2003Leeds North WestLabourSigned
Michael Clapham13/02/2003Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
Harry Barnes13/02/2003North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Alex Salmond24/02/2003Banff & BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Rudi Vis24/02/2003Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Steve Webb04/03/2003NorthavonLiberal DemocratSigned
Hugh Bayley10/03/2003York, City ofLabourSigned
John Burnett13/03/2003Torridge & West DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
John Grogan14/03/2003SelbyLabourSigned
Alan Simpson20/03/2003Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Nigel Jones02/04/2003CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Phil Willis20/06/2003Harrogate & KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.