Parliament Website


EDM number 118 in 2004-05, proposed by John Mann on 23/11/2004.

That this House notes the recent ballot held by TSSA in which 78 per cent. voted to keep the political fund; further notes that under legislation introduced by the Conservative Government in 1984, trade unions wishing to contribute to political parties or engage in other political activities must establish a political fund; further notes that each union must ballot their members every 10 years on whether to retain this fund; recognises that all individual union members have the right to opt out of paying into a political fund should they so choose; is concerned that this means trade unions bear an excessive financial burden in order to fulfil their natural role of representing their members interest; and believes that in light of the TSSA members' recent overwhelming vote in favour of retaining the union's political fund that the Government should abolish the legislation that puts such excessive burdens on trade unions.

This motion has been signed by a total of 51 MPs.

John Mann23/11/2004BassetlawLabourProposed
Jim Sheridan24/11/2004West RenfrewshireLabourSigned
Rudi Vis24/11/2004Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
David Taylor24/11/2004North West LeicestershireLabour Co-operativeSigned
Paul Farrelly24/11/2004Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore24/11/2004HendonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn24/11/2004Islington NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton24/11/2004GowerLabourSigned
Alan Meale24/11/2004MansfieldLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd24/11/2004Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner25/11/2004BolsoverLabourSigned
David Lepper25/11/2004Brighton, PavilionLabour Co-operativeSigned
Tony Banks29/11/2004West HamLabourSigned
Harry Barnes29/11/2004North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Syd Rapson30/11/2004Portsmouth NorthLabourSigned
Betty Williams30/11/2004ConwyLabourSigned
Robert Wareing30/11/2004Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Michael Clapham30/11/2004Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara30/11/2004Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
John McDonnell30/11/2004Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Eric Illsley30/11/2004Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Mark Hendrick01/12/2004PrestonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Harry Cohen01/12/2004Leyton & WansteadLabourSigned
David Borrow01/12/2004South RibbleLabourSigned
John Austin02/12/2004Erith & ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Albert Owen02/12/2004Ynys MLabourSigned
David Drew02/12/2004StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Frank Doran02/12/2004Aberdeen CentralLabourSigned
Ann Cryer02/12/2004KeighleyLabourSigned
Marsha Singh02/12/2004Bradford WestLabourSigned
Janet Dean02/12/2004BurtonLabourSigned
Richard Burden06/12/2004Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Bill Etherington06/12/2004Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Andy Reed07/12/2004LoughboroughLabour Co-operativeSigned
Tom Cox07/12/2004TootingLabourSigned
Jeff Ennis08/12/2004Barnsley East & MexboroughLabourSigned
David Hamilton08/12/2004MidlothianLabourSigned
Bill Tynan09/12/2004Hamilton SouthLabourSigned
Clive Efford09/12/2004ElthamLabourSigned
Wayne David09/12/2004CaerphillyLabourSigned
Alan Simpson13/12/2004Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn13/12/2004JarrowLabourSigned
Julia Drown13/12/2004South SwindonLabourSigned
Joan Walley13/12/2004Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
David Crausby16/12/2004Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins20/12/2004Luton NorthLabourSigned
Mike Gapes21/12/2004Ilford SouthLabour Co-operativeSigned
John Cryer13/01/2005HornchurchLabourSigned
Diane Abbott13/01/2005Hackney North & Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Andy King24/01/2005Rugby & KenilworthLabourSigned
Russell Brown09/02/2005DumfriesLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.