Parliament Website

Elections To The Scottish Parliament

EDM number 1421A1 in 2005-06, proposed by Angus MacNeil on 19/01/2006.

at end add `; but notes the Arbuthnott Commission's conclusion that dual candidacy only seems problematic to some people because of the legacy of constituency representation within British political culture and the hegemony which this has secured for some parties; further notes the report's confirmation that preventing dual candidacy would be undemocratic and agreement that it would place `an unnecessary restriction on the democratic rights of potential candidates, parties and local electors to have as unrestricted a choice as possible in an election.'

This is a ammendment to 1421.

This motion has been signed by a total of 18 MPs.

Angus MacNeil19/01/2006Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartyProposed
Pete Wishart20/01/2006Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySeconded
Michael Weir20/01/2006AngusScottish National PartySeconded
Elfyn Llwyd23/01/2006Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSeconded
Adam Price23/01/2006Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
David Mundell25/01/2006Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and TweeddaleConservativeSeconded
Stewart Hosie26/01/2006Dundee EastScottish National PartySigned
Michael Fabricant06/02/2006LichfieldConservativeSigned
David Amess07/02/2006Southend WestConservativeSigned
Cheryl Gillan07/02/2006Chesham and AmershamConservativeSigned
Andrew Selous09/02/2006South West BedfordshireConservativeSigned
Charles Hendry14/02/2006WealdenConservativeSigned
Christopher Fraser14/02/2006South West NorfolkConservativeSigned
Oliver Heald15/02/2006North East HertfordshireConservativeSigned
Julian Brazier15/02/2006CanterburyConservativeSigned
Ben Wallace28/02/2006Lancaster and WyreConservativeSigned
Julian Lewis01/03/2006New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Peter Viggers14/06/2006GosportConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.