Parliament Website

Coalition Government

EDM number 1746 in 2006-07, proposed by John McDonnell on 21/06/2007.

That this House holds to the view that under the British system of open democracy governments are formed after the people have been given the opportunity to express their wishes through the ballot box at a general election; and therefore considers that no form of coalition government should be established without the people being given the right to have a say in a general election.

This motion has been signed by a total of 12 MPs.

John McDonnell21/06/2007Hayes and HarlingtonLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley25/06/2007Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Robert Wareing25/06/2007Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSeconded
David Taylor25/06/2007North West LeicestershireLabourSeconded
Ann Cryer25/06/2007KeighleyLabourSeconded
David Drew26/06/2007StroudLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn26/06/2007Islington NorthLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins27/06/2007Luton NorthLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell27/06/2007Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Michael Clapham28/06/2007Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Alan Simpson03/07/2007Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington09/07/2007Sunderland NorthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.