Parliament Website

Southwark Cathedral And Jerusalem

EDM number 1348 in 2007-08, proposed by Nicholas Winterton on 21/04/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Church and state, Nationality and Religion and faith communities.

That this House expresses its deep concern that the hymn Jerusalem cannot be sung by choirs or congregations at Southwark Cathedral because senior clergy have deemed that the words do not praise God and are too nationalistic; notes that Jerusalem, with words by William Blake and set to music in 1916 by Sir Charles Hubert Hastings Parry, is one of the country's best-loved hymns; recognises the important role played by Jerusalem in the life of the nation; is surprised and saddened that the Dean of Southwark, the Very Rev Colin Slee, informed guests at a private memorial service that Jerusalem would not be sung because it was not in the glory of God; calls on senior clergy to reinstate Jerusalem without delay as a welcome and acceptable part of future services in the Diocese of Southwark and elsewhere; and further calls on senior clergy actively to recognise and acknowledge the great traditions of the United Kingdom in celebrating all that is best about the country, its people and its history, not least by reflecting on the decision of the Archbishop of York, the Most Rev and Rt Hon Dr John Sentamu, to join the Army's Red Devils display team jumping from 12,500 feet to raise £50,000 for the families of soldiers killed and injured in Afghanistan.

This motion has been signed by a total of 23 MPs.

Nicholas Winterton21/04/2008MacclesfieldConservativeProposed
Ann Winterton21/04/2008CongletonConservativeSeconded
Ann Cryer21/04/2008KeighleyLabourSeconded
Angus MacNeil22/04/2008Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySeconded
Philip Davies22/04/2008ShipleyConservativeSeconded
Andrew Dismore22/04/2008HendonLabourSeconded
Bob Spink22/04/2008Castle PointUKIPSigned
Keith Vaz23/04/2008Leicester EastLabourSigned
Tony Baldry23/04/2008BanburyConservativeSigned
James Gray23/04/2008North WiltshireConservativeSigned
Nigel Evans23/04/2008Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Gregory Campbell23/04/2008East LondonderryDUPSigned
Graham Brady23/04/2008Altrincham and Sale WestConservativeSigned
Lindsay Hoyle23/04/2008ChorleyLabourSigned
Tim Loughton24/04/2008East Worthing and ShorehamConservativeSigned
Janet Dean24/04/2008BurtonLabourSigned
Andrew Rosindell29/04/2008RomfordConservativeSigned
Iris Robinson29/04/2008StrangfordDUPSigned
John Horam30/04/2008OrpingtonConservativeSigned
Brian Jenkins30/04/2008TamworthLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds30/04/2008Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Linda Riordan30/04/2008HalifaxLabourSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson01/05/2008Lagan ValleyDUPSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.