Parliament Website

Newcastle Charter For Changing Age

EDM number 137 in 2010-12, proposed by David Anderson on 02/06/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Elderly people.

That this House warmly supports the launch by Newcastle University's Institute for Ageing and Health of the Newcastle Charter for Changing Age which recognises that the number of older people in the UK's population has increased dramatically, will continue for the foreseeable future and requires a radical reassessment of the place of older people in society with a profound change in attitudes to ageing, informed by facts and not by outdated misconceptions; urges policymakers and others to accept that population ageing should not be viewed as a negative issue and a burden to be managed and that, through centuries of scientific research, ingenuity and perseverance, ageing is one of humanity's greatest achievements; believes that increasing life expectancy is an economic good, leading to older people as contributors and consumers of products and services and adding substantially to economic growth; recognises that ageism, in its widespread and corrosive forms, where older people are marginalised through arbitrary ages of compulsory retirement or of exclusion from full participation in any social activity, including education, can no longer be accepted; and agrees that health research and service provision should take account of new advances in understanding the connections between ageing and health and that the UK needs to adapt national and local infrastructures for transport, housing and communications to accommodate the changing age structure of its population, which will itself create major opportunities for industrial growth.

This motion has been signed by a total of 26 MPs.

David Anderson02/06/2010BlaydonLabourProposed
Chi Onwurah02/06/2010Newcastle upon Tyne CentralLabourSeconded
Ian Lavery02/06/2010WansbeckLabourSeconded
Stephen Hepburn02/06/2010JarrowLabourSeconded
Ian Mearns03/06/2010GatesheadLabourSeconded
Alan Meale03/06/2010MansfieldLabourSeconded
Sharon Hodgson03/06/2010Washington and Sunderland WestLabourSigned
Paul Flynn07/06/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Grahame Morris07/06/2010EasingtonLabourSigned
Mark Durkan08/06/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Catherine McKinnell08/06/2010Newcastle upon Tyne NorthLabourSigned
Pat Glass08/06/2010North West DurhamLabourSigned
Alan Beith08/06/2010Berwick-upon-TweedLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton08/06/2010GowerLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd08/06/2010Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Mark Lazarowicz08/06/2010Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins08/06/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Alan Campbell09/06/2010TynemouthLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell09/06/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Tom Blenkinsop09/06/2010Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Malcolm Bruce10/06/2010GordonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mary Glindon10/06/2010North TynesideLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie14/06/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim Dobbin14/06/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
David Hamilton23/06/2010MidlothianLabourSigned
John McDonnell30/06/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.