Parliament Website

Fire Control Cover

EDM number 1428 in 2010-12, proposed by Alan Meale on 09/02/2011.
Categorised under the topic of Fire services.

That this House recalls the Government's decision in December 2010 to scrap its Regional Fire Control Project which it then relayed to all fire authorities throughout the UK; understands the confusion this caused particularly amongst those authorities who under Government guidance had financially committed themselves to delivering; is alarmed therefore to learn that so far the Government has not offered any transitional assistance whatsoever to these bodies, who instead have been rushed into costly alternative mechanisms to cut costs and keep services running; believes fire authorities should not be forced into making such rash decisions which could endanger the service's future provision, operational and professional approach towards fire control cover; and calls on the Government instead to immediately meet these authorities and the Fire Brigades Union quickly toagree a sensible, workable alternative to the confusion which currently pervades the service.

This motion has been signed by a total of 22 MPs.

Alan Meale09/02/2011MansfieldLabourProposed
Ian Mearns09/02/2011GatesheadLabourSeconded
Bob Russell10/02/2011ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Elfyn Llwyd10/02/2011Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn10/02/2011Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Keith Vaz11/02/2011Leicester EastLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins14/02/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
Mary Glindon14/02/2011North TynesideLabourSigned
David Simpson15/02/2011Upper BannDUPSigned
William McCrea15/02/2011South AntrimDUPSigned
Ronnie Campbell16/02/2011Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Grahame Morris16/02/2011EasingtonLabourSigned
Hywel Williams16/02/2011ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Paul Flynn16/02/2011Newport WestLabourSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson16/02/2011Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Martin Caton16/02/2011GowerLabourSigned
George Howarth16/02/2011KnowsleyLabourSigned
Jim Shannon17/02/2011StrangfordDUPSigned
Joe Benton17/02/2011BootleLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma03/03/2011Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell08/03/2011East LondonderryDUPSigned
Paul Farrelly18/03/2011Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.