Parliament Website

Jobcentre Plus Closures

EDM number 1808 in 2010-12, proposed by Kate Green on 13/05/2011.
Categorised under the topic of Employment schemes.

That this House notes with concern the Jobcentre Plus announcement of the closure of five contact centres at Caerphilly, Clydebank, Grimsby, Liverpool and Preston and 17 benefit processing centres in Arbroath, Ayr, Broadstairs, Cannock, Carlisle, Castleford, Chester, Exeter, Halifax, Hartlepool, Huyton, Lincoln, Luton, Mansfield, Sutton-in-Ashfield, Southampton and Yeovil; further notes that these closures threaten 2,400 jobs; believes that with unemployment standing at 2.5 million, now is the worst time to make cuts to services that will affect the time taken in paying unemployed people the benefits to which they are entitled and reliant upon for an income; further notes that the Office for Budget Responsibility has predicted that unemployment levels will continue to increase in 2012; and calls on the Secretary of State for Work and Pensions to reconsider this decision and commit to discussing this decision with trade unions representing Jobcentre Plus staff under threat of losing their jobs.

This motion has been signed by a total of 46 MPs.

Kate Green13/05/2011Stretford and UrmstonLabourProposed
John McDonnell13/05/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Jim Dobbin16/05/2011Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Dennis Skinner16/05/2011BolsoverLabourSeconded
Graham Stringer16/05/2011Blackley and BroughtonLabourSeconded
Linda Riordan16/05/2011HalifaxLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn16/05/2011Islington NorthLabourSigned
Paul Flynn16/05/2011Newport WestLabourSigned
Katy Clark16/05/2011North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Jim McGovern16/05/2011Dundee WestLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper17/05/2011West LancashireLabourSigned
John Leech17/05/2011Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
George Howarth17/05/2011KnowsleyLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson18/05/2011Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd18/05/2011Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Alan Meale18/05/2011MansfieldLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne18/05/2011Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell18/05/2011Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Martin Caton18/05/2011GowerLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins19/05/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
Teresa Pearce23/05/2011Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy23/05/2011GlenrothesLabourSigned
Michael Connarty23/05/2011Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Hywel Williams23/05/2011ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Ian Lavery24/05/2011WansbeckLabourSigned
David Crausby07/06/2011Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Mike Wood07/06/2011Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Heidi Alexander09/06/2011Lewisham EastLabourSigned
Barry Sheerman13/06/2011HuddersfieldLabourSigned
Graeme Morrice13/06/2011LivingstonLabourSigned
Yvonne Fovargue20/06/2011MakerfieldLabourSigned
Alex Cunningham29/06/2011Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Valerie Vaz30/06/2011Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Anne Begg04/07/2011Aberdeen SouthLabourSigned
Roger Williams14/07/2011Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Farrelly18/07/2011Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Tony Cunningham05/09/2011WorkingtonLabourSigned
Pete Wishart05/09/2011Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Ian Mearns05/09/2011GatesheadLabourSigned
Joan Ruddock08/09/2011Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Paul Blomfield09/09/2011Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Jon Cruddas17/10/2011Dagenham and RainhamLabourSigned
Alison McGovern31/10/2011Wirral SouthLabourSigned
Tom Clarke01/11/2011Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Pamela Nash24/11/2011Airdrie and ShottsLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma16/01/2012Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.