Parliament Website

VAT On Alterations To Churches

EDM number 2979 in 2010-12, proposed by Valerie Vaz on 18/04/2012.
Categorised under the topic of Cultural heritage.

That this House notes the announcement in the Budget that alterations to listed properties will be subject to the standard rate of VAT; is concerned that 45 per cent of the GradeIlisted buildings in this country are Church of England churches; further notes that out of 16,000 Church of England churches 12,500 are listed and will be subject to this VAT; further notes that the budget to cover the repair of churches for the scheme has this year been cut from 23 million to 7 million; acknowledges that many of these buildings are maintained by volunteers; further notes that many of the alterations in question will make such buildings more viable for use by the wider community; and calls on the Government to exclude listed places of worship from the standard rate of VAT.

This motion has been signed by a total of 32 MPs.

Valerie Vaz18/04/2012Walsall SouthLabourProposed
John McDonnell18/04/2012Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan18/04/2012FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Peter Bottomley18/04/2012Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Alan Meale19/04/2012MansfieldLabourSeconded
Grahame Morris19/04/2012EasingtonLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins19/04/2012Luton NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton19/04/2012GowerLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin19/04/2012Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
James Gray19/04/2012North WiltshireConservativeSigned
Virendra Sharma19/04/2012Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Iain McKenzie19/04/2012InverclydeLabourSigned
David Crausby23/04/2012Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Ian Paisley Jnr23/04/2012North AntrimDUPSigned
Nicholas Soames23/04/2012Mid SussexConservativeSigned
Dennis Skinner23/04/2012BolsoverLabourSigned
Gordon Marsden23/04/2012Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Tristram Hunt24/04/2012Stoke-on-Trent CentralLabourSigned
Mary Glindon24/04/2012North TynesideLabourSigned
William McCrea24/04/2012South AntrimDUPSigned
Naomi Long24/04/2012Belfast EastAllianceSigned
David Simpson24/04/2012Upper BannDUPSigned
Jim Shannon24/04/2012StrangfordDUPSigned
Margaret Ritchie24/04/2012South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Stephen Hepburn25/04/2012JarrowLabourSigned
George Howarth25/04/2012KnowsleyLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell25/04/2012Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Linda Riordan25/04/2012HalifaxLabourSigned
Ian Lavery25/04/2012WansbeckLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy26/04/2012GlenrothesLabourSigned
Barry Sheerman30/04/2012HuddersfieldLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn30/04/2012Islington NorthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.