Parliament Website

Building Schools For The Future In Greater London

EDM number 474 in 2010-12, proposed by Chuka Umunna on 12/07/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Schools.

That this House condemns the Government's decision to cancel the Building Schools for the Future (BSF) programme for 171 secondary schools in Greater London; notes that this dashes the hopes and efforts of thepupils, parents, teachers and governors of those schools; further condemns the ongoing uncertainty facing 11 London sample schools where the status of planned building work remains under review; regrets the negative effect that the Government's decision will have on growth and jobs in London's construction industry; further notes that thousands of London school pupils and teachers have benefited from BSF projects that have already been completed; asserts that a modern, purpose-built and comfortable learning environment is essential to the education of children in London and elsewhere; and in the strongest possible terms, urges the Government to reconsider its decison and proceed with the projects previously planned.

This motion has been signed by a total of 30 MPs.

Chuka Umunna12/07/2010StreathamLabourProposed
Andrew Love12/07/2010EdmontonLabourSeconded
Jon Cruddas12/07/2010Dagenham and RainhamLabourSeconded
Andy Slaughter12/07/2010HammersmithLabourSeconded
Glenda Jackson12/07/2010Hampstead and KilburnLabourSeconded
Stephen Pound12/07/2010Ealing NorthLabourSeconded
Stella Creasy12/07/2010WalthamstowLabourSigned
Rushanara Ali12/07/2010Bethnal Green and BowLabourSigned
Emily Thornberry12/07/2010Islington South and FinsburyLabourSigned
Malcolm Wicks12/07/2010Croydon NorthLabourSigned
Stephen Timms12/07/2010East HamLabourSigned
Barry Gardiner12/07/2010Brent NorthLabourSigned
Clive Efford12/07/2010ElthamLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn12/07/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
John McDonnell12/07/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Margaret Hodge12/07/2010BarkingLabourSigned
Gareth Thomas12/07/2010Harrow WestLabourSigned
Katy Clark13/07/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin13/07/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Martin Caton13/07/2010GowerLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins13/07/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Frank Dobson14/07/2010Holborn and St PancrasLabourSigned
Jim Dowd14/07/2010Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Paul Flynn14/07/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma14/07/2010Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Alan Keen15/07/2010Feltham and HestonLabourSigned
Teresa Pearce15/07/2010Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Diane Abbott19/07/2010Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Hywel Francis20/07/2010AberavonLabourSigned
Heidi Alexander20/07/2010Lewisham EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.