Parliament Website

Wheels To Work Scheme

EDM number 533 in 2010-12, proposed by Stephen Pound on 19/07/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Employment schemes.

That this House notes the moped loan scheme for young people known asWheels to Work which has traditionally received cross-party support; further notes that in the current economic climate it is more important than ever that young people have access to employment, education and training opportunities; further notes that the low cost of providing small motorcycles to jobseekers can more than offset the cost to the Exchequer of leaving young people economically inactive and claiming benefits; and calls for the Government to actively consider how it can facilitate and support individual Wheels to Work scheme efforts to gain stable funding, so enabling them to continue to provide this invaluable and cost-effective service.

This motion has been signed by a total of 25 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Stephen Pound19/07/2010Ealing NorthLabourProposed
Jim Dobbin20/07/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Martin Caton20/07/2010GowerLabourSeconded
John McDonnell20/07/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn20/07/2010Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Ronnie Campbell21/07/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Albert Owen21/07/2010Ynys MLabourSigned
Ian Davidson21/07/2010Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
David Anderson22/07/2010BlaydonLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma26/07/2010Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Eric Illsley27/07/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
Tom Blenkinsop27/07/2010Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Nicholas Dakin27/07/2010ScunthorpeLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner27/07/2010BolsoverLabourSigned
Jimmy Hood06/09/2010Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
David Crausby06/09/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
John Cryer06/09/2010Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Hywel Francis06/09/2010AberavonLabourSigned
Andrew George06/09/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Katy Clark06/09/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Helen Goodman06/09/2010Bishop AucklandLabourSigned
Jim Shannon07/09/2010StrangfordDUPSigned
Alasdair McDonnell07/09/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
John Hemming13/09/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Horwood13/10/2010CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.