Parliament Website

London Underground Ticket Offices In Hammersmith Constituency

EDM number 539 in 2010-12, proposed by Andy Slaughter on 19/07/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Railways.

That this House notes that Transport for London's proposals to shed up to 800 ticket office and gateline jobs on London Underground will adversely affect the opening times of ticket offices in Goldhawk Road, Hammersmith, Shepherd's Bush Market, East Acton, Shepherd's Bush, White City, Barons Court, Ravenscourt Park and West Kensington stations; believes that job cuts of this magnitude will damage the level of customer service afforded to passengers who will be forced to queue for longer to buy their tickets; acknowledges that ticket machines alone are no replacement for the presence of trained underground staff, will not be able to offer travel advice on ticket and fare options and could disproportionately impact on those passengers who have a disability which makes it difficult or impossible to use a ticket machine; is concerned that without the security of fully-staffed ticket offices, passengers will feel that they are travelling in a less safe environment and that this could result in lower usage of the network at early mornings and late evenings if passengers decide personal safety concerns are too high; and urges Transport for London to review this decision, re-affirming reasonable and safe staffing levels across the London Underground network, affording passengers excellent service from their local ticket office.

This motion has been signed by a total of 16 MPs.

Andy Slaughter19/07/2010HammersmithLabourProposed
Martin Caton20/07/2010GowerLabourSeconded
Glenda Jackson20/07/2010Hampstead and KilburnLabourSeconded
John McDonnell20/07/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn20/07/2010Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Ian Davidson21/07/2010Glasgow South WestLabourSeconded
David Anderson22/07/2010BlaydonLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma26/07/2010Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Stephen Pound27/07/2010Ealing NorthLabourSigned
Katy Clark06/09/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Helen Goodman06/09/2010Bishop AucklandLabourSigned
Valerie Vaz06/09/2010Walsall SouthLabourSigned
John Cryer08/09/2010Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Julie Hilling16/09/2010Bolton WestLabourSigned
Martin Horwood13/10/2010CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Mary Glindon18/10/2010North TynesideLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.