Parliament Website

Date Of Proposed Referendum On An Alternative Voting System

EDM number 613 in 2010-12, proposed by Bernard Jenkin on 26/07/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Electoral systems.

That this House notes that in 2002 the Electoral Commission, following consultations on the holding of a possible referendum on the euro on the same day as other elections on 1 May 2003, issued a statement making clear that referendums on fundamental issues of national importance should be considered in isolation and that they should not be held at the same time as devolved assembly or local government elections; further notes that in a recent report the House of Lords Constitution Committee recommended that there should be a presumption against holding referendums on the same day as elections; recognises that this advice is in accordance with best constitutional practice in countries such as Switzerland, where referendums are more regularly held; believes that this constitutional practice should be observed unless there are very exceptional reasons for it to be set aside; is concerned at the proposal to hold the referendum on whether to change the voting system on 5 May 2011, which is the same day as elections to the Scottish Parliament, the National Assembly for Wales and to local authorities in Northern Ireland, but only in parts of England; further believes that this proposal would allow other issues to cloud the referendum debate before the vote, would artificially inflate turnout in some parts of the country but not others, and that it may accordingly advantage one campaign at the expense of the other; proposes that any referendum on this issue should therefore be held on a different date; and looks forward to advice from the Electoral Commission on this matter which is consistent with its previous statements.

This motion has been signed by a total of 61 MPs, 5 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Adam Holloway26/07/2010GraveshamConservativeWithdrawn
Michael Fallon26/07/2010SevenoaksConservativeWithdrawn
Bernard Jenkin26/07/2010Harwich and North EssexConservativeProposed
Malcolm Rifkind26/07/2010KensingtonConservativeSeconded
Peter Lilley26/07/2010Hitchin and HarpendenConservativeSeconded
David Davis26/07/2010Haltemprice and HowdenConservativeSeconded
Edward Leigh26/07/2010GainsboroughConservativeSeconded
Richard Ottaway26/07/2010Croydon SouthConservativeSeconded
Douglas Carswell26/07/2010ClactonConservativeSigned
Andrew Percy26/07/2010Brigg and GooleConservativeSigned
Nadine Dorries26/07/2010Mid BedfordshireConservativeSigned
Daniel Kawczynski26/07/2010Shrewsbury and AtchamConservativeSigned
Graham Stuart26/07/2010Beverley and HoldernessConservativeSigned
Bob Stewart26/07/2010BeckenhamConservativeSigned
Tracey Crouch26/07/2010Chatham and AylesfordConservativeSigned
Andrew Bridgen26/07/2010North West LeicestershireConservativeSigned
Therese Coffey26/07/2010Suffolk CoastalConservativeSigned
Mark Reckless26/07/2010Rochester and StroodConservativeSigned
Jacob Rees-Mogg26/07/2010North East SomersetConservativeSigned
Robin Walker26/07/2010WorcesterConservativeSigned
David Nuttall26/07/2010Bury NorthConservativeSigned
Jack Lopresti26/07/2010Filton and Bradley StokeConservativeSigned
Stephen McPartland26/07/2010StevenageConservativeSigned
Stephen Mosley26/07/2010City of ChesterConservativeSigned
Ian Liddell-Grainger26/07/2010Bridgwater and West SomersetConservativeSigned
Peter Bone26/07/2010WellingboroughConservativeSigned
Glyn Davies26/07/2010MontgomeryshireConservativeSigned
John Redwood26/07/2010WokinghamConservativeSigned
Laurence Robertson26/07/2010TewkesburyConservativeSigned
Andrew Rosindell26/07/2010RomfordConservativeSigned
Richard Shepherd26/07/2010Aldridge-BrownhillsConservativeSigned
Greg Knight26/07/2010East YorkshireConservativeSigned
Eleanor Laing26/07/2010Epping ForestConservativeSigned
Julian Lewis26/07/2010New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Patrick Mercer26/07/2010NewarkConservativeSigned
James Clappison26/07/2010HertsmereConservativeSigned
Mark Field26/07/2010Cities of London and WestminsterConservativeSigned
James Gray26/07/2010North WiltshireConservativeSigned
David Amess26/07/2010Southend WestConservativeSigned
Richard Bacon26/07/2010South NorfolkConservativeSigned
John Whittingdale26/07/2010MaldonConservativeSigned
Brian Binley26/07/2010Northampton SouthConservativeSigned
Eric Illsley27/07/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
Christopher Chope27/07/2010ChristchurchConservativeSigned
Denis MacShane27/07/2010RotherhamLabourSigned
Graham Stringer06/09/2010Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Jim McGovern06/09/2010Dundee WestLabourSigned
Martin Vickers06/09/2010CleethorpesConservativeSigned
Thomas Docherty06/09/2010Dunfermline and West FifeLabourSigned
William McCrea07/09/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
Martin Caton07/09/2010GowerLabourSigned
Tom Blenkinsop07/09/2010Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell08/09/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Philip Davies08/09/2010ShipleyConservativeSigned
Mark Lazarowicz09/09/2010Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
David Hamilton09/09/2010MidlothianLabourSigned
Nicholas Dakin09/09/2010ScunthorpeLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd13/09/2010Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Gavin Shuker11/10/2010Luton SouthLabourSigned
Geoffrey Clifton-BrownUnknownWithdrawn
Mark MenziesUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.