Parliament Website

Parliamentary Honours

EDM number 127 in 2012-13, proposed by Paul Flynn on 23/05/2012.
Categorised under the topic of Members of Parliament.

That this House believes that the highest honour attainable by a democrat in this country is achieving the office of Member of Parliament; is surprised that without the knowledgeor consent of Parliament, a committee has been set up to give four knighthoods and 21 minor honours to hon. Members and other political staff; further believes that this act of self-aggrandisement will be regarded with contempt by the public; and asserts that the committee's dominant membership of chief whips and other establishment figures brands it as an unwelcome instrument of patronage that will expose recipients of awards to ridicule.

This motion has been signed by a total of 4 MPs.

Paul Flynn23/05/2012Newport WestLabourProposed
Kelvin Hopkins24/05/2012Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Graham Stringer11/06/2012Blackley and BroughtonLabourSeconded
Martin Caton12/06/2012GowerLabourSeconded

Download raw data as csv or xml.