Parliament Website

Royalty Payments To Welsh Composers And Publishers

EDM number 928 in 2012-13, proposed by Hywel Williams on 15/01/2013.
Categorised under the topic of Performing arts.

That this House recognises that, as a result of the Performing Rights Society's (PRS) decision to changeits distribution policy, composers, artists and music publishers in Wales, especially those who compose songs in the Welsh language have seen their incomes drastically reduced by up to 85 per cent from this source; notes that no satisfactory solution has been reached since this change in 2007; further notes that as Radio Cymru is virtually the BBC's sole outlet for Welsh language music, the livelihoods of Welsh language artists, publishers and composers are being threatened and an essential element of the Welsh culture undermined; supports the establishment of the umbrella organisation Eos to better represent the 297 composers, artists and publishers and many more through 34 music publishing companies; further notes that whilst negotiations are proceeding the BBC cannot broadcast 30,000 songs; applauds the support given to Eos by, amongst others, Welsh poets and those who would otherwise be regular contributors to Radio Cymru programmes; believes that the relationship between the BBC and the PRS raises questions about neo-monopolies in the music industry; and calls on the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills to investigate the matter urgently.

This motion has been signed by a total of 12 MPs.

Hywel Williams15/01/2013ArfonPlaid CymruProposed
Elfyn Llwyd15/01/2013Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Jonathan Edwards15/01/2013Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Alasdair McDonnell16/01/2013Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Alan Meale16/01/2013MansfieldLabourSeconded
Stephen Williams16/01/2013Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSeconded
George Galloway17/01/2013Bradford WestRespectSigned
Mark Williams17/01/2013CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn18/01/2013Islington NorthLabourSigned
John McDonnell21/01/2013Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Mark Durkan21/01/2013FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Dan Rogerson24/01/2013North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.