Parliament Website

Fetal Valproate Syndrome

EDM number 9 in 2013-14, proposed by David Anderson on 08/05/2013.
Categorised under the topics of Children and families, Companies, Drugs misuse and Health services.

That this House notes with concern the recent refusal by the Minister for Care and Support of a public inquiry into why information was withheld concerning the disastrous way in which sodium valproate has affected pregnant women and their children; further notes the cost to the public purse of additional health, education and welfare costs incurred by families affected by Fetal Valproate Syndrome; believes that the regulator could have avoided such costs and large numbers of people affected since sodium valproate was licensed and sold from 1973; further believes that its makers, the pharmaceutical company Sanofi, failed in its duty of care and corporate responsibility by not informing the relevant agencies of its teratogenic effects; welcomes the Minister's recent decision to meet representatives of the Independent Fetal Anti-Convulsant Trust; and urges the holding of a public inquiry.

This motion has been signed by a total of 28 MPs.

David Anderson08/05/2013BlaydonLabourProposed
Margaret Ritchie09/05/2013South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Kelvin Hopkins09/05/2013Luton NorthLabourSeconded
John McDonnell09/05/2013Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn10/05/2013Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Ronnie Campbell13/05/2013Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon13/05/2013StrangfordDUPSigned
George Howarth13/05/2013KnowsleyLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin13/05/2013Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Mark Durkan13/05/2013FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Frank Field13/05/2013BirkenheadLabourSigned
Alan Meale14/05/2013MansfieldLabourSigned
Mary Glindon14/05/2013North TynesideLabourSigned
Naomi Long15/05/2013Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Martin Caton15/05/2013GowerLabourSigned
William McCrea15/05/2013South AntrimDUPSigned
David Heyes15/05/2013Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Katy Clark20/05/2013North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper20/05/2013West LancashireLabourSigned
David Crausby21/05/2013Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi21/05/2013Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Menzies Campbell03/06/2013North East FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Fabian Hamilton03/06/2013Leeds North EastLabourSigned
Clive Betts03/06/2013Sheffield South EastLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne04/06/2013Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Frank Doran18/07/2013Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan09/09/2013Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell11/09/2013Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.