Parliament Website

Enable Scotland's Bethechange Campaign

EDM number 592 in 2014-15, proposed by Fiona O'Donnell on 03/12/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Charities and Disability discrimination.

That this House welcomes the launch of Enable Scotland's new campaign, #BeTheChange, and supports its core aim to challenge bullying and eliminate offensive language about people with a learning disability; notes that Enable Scotland is a member-led charity of and for people with a learning disability, who told Enable Scotland it was time to challenge this hateful language experienced by 90 per cent of them; recognises the need for a campaign specifically focusing on anti-bullying measures for people with a learning disability; understands that the #BeTheChange campaign will encompass two main strands, a school resource for teachers to raise awareness and promote positive attitudes to learning disability and a public awareness campaign to tackle abusive language in wider society; acknowledges that the #BeTheChange campaign is the culmination of two years of Enable's work towards developing a learning disability-specific anti-bullying campaign with support from the Scottish Government and other key partners; and encourages people to take the #BeTheChange challenge and declare that they will help to end the use of abusive language towards people with learning disabilities.

This motion has been signed by a total of 18 MPs.

Fiona O'Donnell03/12/2014East LothianLabourProposed
Mark Durkan03/12/2014FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Jim Shannon04/12/2014StrangfordDUPSeconded
Jim McGovern05/12/2014Dundee WestLabourSeconded
Alan Meale05/12/2014MansfieldLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins08/12/2014Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Martin Caton09/12/2014GowerLabourSigned
Ian Swales10/12/2014RedcarLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Weir10/12/2014AngusScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell10/12/2014Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie11/12/2014South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Alasdair McDonnell11/12/2014Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Roger Godsiff15/12/2014Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Menzies Campbell18/12/2014North East FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Charles Kennedy20/01/2015Ross, Skye and LochaberLiberal DemocratSigned
Jimmy Hood02/02/2015Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Katy Clark02/02/2015North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Anne Begg03/02/2015Aberdeen SouthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.