Parliament Website

Carmen Aristegui And Journalism In Mexico

EDM number 902 in 2014-15, proposed by Jeremy Corbyn on 20/03/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Broadcasting and North America.

That this House expresses its shock that Carmen Aristegui, one of Mexico's independent journalists, has been dismissed for her work in the MVS Noticias (news); notes that Ms Aristegui's four-hour daily programme is very popular and often exposes corruption and human rights abuses; further notes that the targeting of such journalists is wholly unacceptable and can only have a very negative impact on journalism and indeed on fundamental rights of free speech and freedom of expression in any democratic country, let alone one struggling to rebuild its reputation following recent negative publicity surrounding the deaths of 43 students; calls on the Government and the international community to raise their concerns about this case with the relevant authorities; congratulates Carmen Aristegui and her team for the excellent work they have done to date and over many years; and encourages them to continue with the excellent contribution they are making to an evolving democratic Mexico.

This motion has been signed by a total of 19 MPs.

Jeremy Corbyn20/03/2015Islington NorthLabourProposed
John McDonnell20/03/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Alan Meale20/03/2015MansfieldLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins23/03/2015Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Bob Russell23/03/2015ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Paul Flynn23/03/2015Newport WestLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan23/03/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Roger Godsiff23/03/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Jim Shannon23/03/2015StrangfordDUPSigned
Martin Caton24/03/2015GowerLabourSigned
Mary Glindon24/03/2015North TynesideLabourSigned
Grahame Morris24/03/2015EasingtonLabourSigned
Liz McInnes24/03/2015Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
David Anderson24/03/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
George Galloway24/03/2015Bradford WestRespectSigned
John Leech25/03/2015Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Ronnie Campbell25/03/2015Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne25/03/2015Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan25/03/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.