Parliament Website

Financial Times Pension Scheme

EDM number 1039 in 2015-16, proposed by Helen Goodman on 01/02/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Pensions and Press.

That this House is concerned about the continued lack of adequate protections for final salary or defined benefit pension schemes where companies are taken over; notes that when Pearson Group sold the Financial Times to Nikkei, workers were told that the terms of the pension scheme would be fair and equivalent under the new ownership; further notes that for some the changes introduced to the pension scheme will mean a shortfall amounting to hundreds of thousands of pounds over a 20-year retirement; calls on the new management to enter meaningful negotiations with representatives of the National Union of Journalists over alternative proposals; supports the right of workers at the Financial Times to take industrial action in the absence of any such negotiations; and further calls on the Government to commit to a thorough review of protection for the private pension arrangements of workers across the private sector.

This motion has been signed by a total of 22 MPs.

Helen Goodman01/02/2016Bishop AucklandLabourProposed
Julie Cooper01/02/2016BurnleyLabourSeconded
John Mann01/02/2016BassetlawLabourSeconded
Marie Rimmer01/02/2016St Helens South and WhistonLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley01/02/2016Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Alan Meale02/02/2016MansfieldLabourSeconded
Angus MacNeil02/02/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Robinson02/02/2016Belfast EastDUPSigned
Martyn Day02/02/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon02/02/2016StrangfordDUPSigned
Ronnie Campbell03/02/2016Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas03/02/2016Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Angela Crawley03/02/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Virendra Sharma03/02/2016Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins03/02/2016Luton NorthLabourSigned
David Simpson03/02/2016Upper BannDUPSigned
Ian Blackford04/02/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens04/02/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson05/02/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Steven Paterson08/02/2016StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Anne McLaughlin10/02/2016Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySigned
Dennis Skinner22/02/2016BolsoverLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.