Parliament Website

Cyber Bullying

EDM number 1064 in 2015-16, proposed by Margaret Ritchie on 03/02/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Information technology and Internet and cybercrime.

That this House condemns cyberbullying, online harassment and trolling; notes with concern the detrimental effect it can have on victims' mental and physical well-being; further notes that much of this bullying is sexist, racist or homophobic in nature; calls on the Government to equip young people and other web users with education on how to recognise and report cyber-bullying; urges the establishment of a support-network for the victims of online harassment; and, given that a significant proportion of online harassment emanates from outside the UK, encourages the Government to work with its partners internationally to ensure the perpetrators of harassment cannot use jurisdictional issues as a means to escape responsibility for their actions online.

This motion has been signed by a total of 37 MPs.

Margaret Ritchie03/02/2016South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartyProposed
Peter Bottomley03/02/2016Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Mark Durkan03/02/2016FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Liz Saville Roberts03/02/2016Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Jim Shannon04/02/2016StrangfordDUPSeconded
David Simpson04/02/2016Upper BannDUPSeconded
Stephen Gethins04/02/2016North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens04/02/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Lisa Cameron04/02/2016East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil04/02/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley04/02/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson05/02/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows05/02/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald08/02/2016Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Robinson08/02/2016Belfast EastDUPSigned
Kelvin Hopkins08/02/2016Luton NorthLabourSigned
Martyn Day08/02/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell08/02/2016LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ferrier08/02/2016Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Steven Paterson08/02/2016StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh08/02/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss09/02/2016Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black09/02/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry09/02/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Stuart Donaldson10/02/2016West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Caroline Lucas10/02/2016Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Alasdair McDonnell10/02/2016Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Alan Meale10/02/2016MansfieldLabourSigned
Owen Thompson10/02/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman10/02/2016Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Nigel Dodds11/02/2016Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson22/02/2016Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Gregory Campbell22/02/2016East LondonderryDUPSigned
Gavin Newlands22/02/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry22/02/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson09/03/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
David Crausby27/04/2016Bolton North EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.