Parliament Website

Construction Fatalities

EDM number 1117 in 2015-16, proposed by Stephen Hepburn on 22/02/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Administration of justice, Construction industry, Death and Industrial health and safety.

That this House is alarmed that the length of time between a construction fatal accident occurring and a prosecution beginning is increasing, as in 2014-15 the average time between a construction fatal accident and a prosecution starting was 879 days; believes these delays are intolerable and for the families involved justice delayed must feel like justice denied; views with extreme concern that although the number of fatalities in construction has declined the percentage of prosecutions following a construction death being undertaken by the Health and Safety Executive (HSE) has fallen considerably and in 2010-11 the HSE managed to mount a prosecution in just 31 per cent of fatal accidents, and subsequent years reveal similarly low rates of prosecutions; and resolves to ensure that companies guilty in causing the death of a worker do not avoid justice and that delays in prosecuting companies are dramatically reduced.

This motion has been signed by a total of 33 MPs.

Stephen Hepburn22/02/2016JarrowLabourProposed
Kelvin Hopkins23/02/2016Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Liz Saville Roberts23/02/2016Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
John Cryer23/02/2016Leyton and WansteadLabourSeconded
Jim Cunningham23/02/2016Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
Dennis Skinner23/02/2016BolsoverLabourSeconded
Alan Meale24/02/2016MansfieldLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell24/02/2016Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards24/02/2016Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Paul Flynn24/02/2016Newport WestLabourSigned
Chris Stephens24/02/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Ian Mearns25/02/2016GatesheadLabourSigned
Khalid Mahmood26/02/2016Birmingham, Perry BarrLabourSigned
Jim Shannon29/02/2016StrangfordDUPSigned
Ruth Smeeth01/03/2016Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Jim Fitzpatrick01/03/2016Poplar and LimehouseLabourSigned
Huw Irranca-Davies01/03/2016OgmoreLabourSigned
Marie Rimmer01/03/2016St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Colleen Fletcher07/03/2016Coventry North EastLabourSigned
Peter Dowd07/03/2016BootleLabourSigned
Bill Esterson07/03/2016Sefton CentralLabourSigned
Louise Ellman08/03/2016Liverpool, RiversideLabourSigned
Graham Jones09/03/2016HyndburnLabourSigned
Wes Streeting09/03/2016Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma09/03/2016Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
John Spellar10/03/2016WarleyLabourSigned
Clive Betts10/03/2016Sheffield South EastLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper11/03/2016West LancashireLabourSigned
Ruth Cadbury14/03/2016Brentford and IsleworthLabourSigned
Paul Blomfield11/04/2016Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi18/04/2016Bolton South EastLabourSigned
David Crausby27/04/2016Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Anne McLaughlin11/05/2016Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.