Parliament Website

Gender Based Pricing

EDM number 1155 in 2015-16, proposed by Anne McLaughlin on 25/02/2016.
Categorised under the topic of Consumers.

That this House notes the recent research into gender pricing which shows that products targeted at women were, on average, 37 per cent more expensive than those targeted at men; further notes the research by Aviva in 2012 which estimated an annual difference of £200 between items priced according to gender; regrets that these differences are seen in many of the big retailers operating across Britain; welcomes the petition targeting gender based pricing at one prominent high street retailer; and calls on all retailers to remove gender based pricing for equipment products.

This motion has been signed by a total of 39 MPs.

Anne McLaughlin25/02/2016Glasgow North EastScottish National PartyProposed
Chris Law26/02/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySeconded
Angela Crawley29/02/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySeconded
Steven Paterson29/02/2016StirlingScottish National PartySeconded
Martyn Day29/02/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Jonathan Edwards29/02/2016Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Alison Thewliss29/02/2016Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil29/02/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
John McNally29/02/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Peter Bottomley29/02/2016Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Margaret Ritchie29/02/2016South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Chris Stephens29/02/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Alex Salmond29/02/2016Signed
Phil Boswell01/03/2016Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts01/03/2016Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Alan Meale01/03/2016MansfieldLabourSigned
Hannah Bardell01/03/2016LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady01/03/2016Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Lisa Cameron01/03/2016East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh01/03/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir01/03/2016AngusScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson01/03/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Mark Durkan01/03/2016FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan01/03/2016InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
George Howarth02/03/2016KnowsleyLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell02/03/2016Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Mhairi Black02/03/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
George Kerevan03/03/2016East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Natalie McGarry03/03/2016Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry03/03/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Fiona Mactaggart04/03/2016SloughLabourSigned
Martin Docherty07/03/2016West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford07/03/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson08/03/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson09/03/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Caroline Lucas09/03/2016Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Roger Godsiff14/03/2016Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Joanna Cherry21/03/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Yasmin Qureshi18/04/2016Bolton South EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.