Parliament Website

40th Anniversary Of Action At The Grunwick Photo Processing Plant

EDM number 1204 in 2015-16, proposed by Dawn Butler on 07/03/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Employment, Equality and Industrial relations.

This House recognises and celebrates the solidarity, persistence and determination of the predominantly female and Asian workforce at the Grunwick Photo Processing Plant in West London who took part in landmark action to secure trade union recognition; notes that 2016 is the 40th anniversary of that dispute and recognises that not only workers rights but basic human dignity was fought for by Grunwick workers; further celebrates in the lead up to International Women's Day the role of women in the trade union movement in fighting for equality and ending oppression in the workplace and wider society; and calls on the Government to recognise that many of the rights working people have today are thanks to the historic role of women in the trade union movement.

This motion has been signed by a total of 29 MPs.

Dawn Butler07/03/2016Proposed
Naseem Shah07/03/2016Bradford WestLabourSeconded
Helen Goodman07/03/2016Bishop AucklandLabourSeconded
Jim Cunningham07/03/2016Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
Jack Dromey07/03/2016Birmingham, ErdingtonLabourSeconded
Paula Sherriff07/03/2016DewsburyLabourSeconded
Ruth Smeeth07/03/2016Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Rupa Huq07/03/2016Ealing Central and ActonLabourSigned
Wes Streeting07/03/2016Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Andy Slaughter07/03/2016HammersmithLabourSigned
Jon Cruddas07/03/2016Dagenham and RainhamLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma07/03/2016Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Ruth Cadbury07/03/2016Brentford and IsleworthLabourSigned
Stephen Doughty08/03/2016Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
Alan Meale08/03/2016MansfieldLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins08/03/2016Luton NorthLabourSigned
Michael Weir08/03/2016AngusScottish National PartySigned
Dennis Skinner08/03/2016BolsoverLabourSigned
Chris Matheson08/03/2016City of ChesterLabourSigned
Fiona Mactaggart09/03/2016SloughLabourSigned
George Kerevan09/03/2016East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell09/03/2016Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Brendan O'Hara10/03/2016Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Keith Vaz10/03/2016Leicester EastLabourSigned
Chris Stephens10/03/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Caroline Lucas15/03/2016Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Paul Blomfield11/04/2016Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi18/04/2016Bolton South EastLabourSigned
David Crausby27/04/2016Bolton North EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.