Parliament Website

Oor Wullie's 80th Anniversary

EDM number 1218 in 2015-16, proposed by Chris Law on 08/03/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Cultural heritage and Press.

That this House celebrates the 80th birthday of Dundee comic character, Oor Wullie; notes that Oor Wullie has been causing havoc since 8 March 1936 when he first appeared in DC Thomson, Dundee publication, the Sunday Post; recognises the work of creator Robert Low and cartoonist Dudley Watkins; further notes the erection of a statue in Dundee city centre of Oor Wullie with his famous bucket and pea-shooter; notes Oor Wullie's appearances in the DC Thomson Christmas annual; congratulates Oor Wullie and his friends Fat Bob, Wee Eck and Soapy Soutar on evading their nemesis PC Murdoch for eight decades; and notes that Dundee's favourite son really is Oor Wullie,·Your Wullie, A'body's Wullie.

This motion has been signed by a total of 50 MPs.

Chris Law08/03/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartyProposed
Stewart Hosie08/03/2016Dundee EastScottish National PartySeconded
Patrick Grady08/03/2016Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Neil Gray08/03/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySeconded
Mhairi Black08/03/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySeconded
Douglas Chapman08/03/2016Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySeconded
Eilidh Whiteford08/03/2016Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Steven Paterson08/03/2016StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Calum Kerr08/03/2016Berwickshire, Roxburgh and SelkirkScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant08/03/2016GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford08/03/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry08/03/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir08/03/2016AngusScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart08/03/2016Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson08/03/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan08/03/2016InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown08/03/2016Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day08/03/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Phil Boswell08/03/2016Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard08/03/2016Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Callum McCaig08/03/2016Aberdeen SouthScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan08/03/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Gregory Campbell09/03/2016East LondonderryDUPSigned
Margaret Ferrier09/03/2016Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
George Kerevan09/03/2016East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Lisa Cameron09/03/2016East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
John McNally09/03/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards09/03/2016Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Martin Docherty09/03/2016West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Kirsten Oswald09/03/2016East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss09/03/2016Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Patricia Gibson09/03/2016North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald09/03/2016Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale09/03/2016MansfieldLabourSigned
Jim Shannon09/03/2016StrangfordDUPSigned
Angus MacNeil09/03/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens10/03/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Robinson10/03/2016Belfast EastDUPSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson10/03/2016Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Brendan O'Hara10/03/2016Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows14/03/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan15/03/2016Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson16/03/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Natalie McGarry16/03/2016Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins17/03/2016North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh21/03/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands21/03/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry21/03/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham21/03/2016Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Angela Crawley11/05/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.