Parliament Website

Australia And The Maritime Boundaries Of Timor Leste

EDM number 1285 in 2015-16, proposed by Kirsten Oswald on 21/03/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Australasia, International law and Marine environment.

That this House recognises the right of all nations to legally binding maritime boundaries; notes with disappointment that, almost 14 years after international recognition of Timor Leste, East Timor as an independent state, the Australian Government has refused to agree permanent maritime boundaries with Timor Leste in accordance with current international law; records its concern that Australia has withdrawn its recognition of the maritime boundary jurisdiction of the International Court of Justice and the International Tribunal of the Laws of the Sea, in order to deprive Timor Leste of legal avenues to assert its rights as an equal member of the international community; expresses solidarity with the Timorese people, whose long, determined and inspirational struggle to become an independent and sovereign nation will not be complete until Australia gives up control of those parts of the Timor Sea, and associated oil and gas reserves that, under international law, should lie entirely within Timor Leste's Exclusive Economic Zone; and backs calls by the Australian-based Timor Sea Justice Campaign for the Australian government to return to the negotiating table and to give Timor Leste, the second poorest country in Asia, a fair go.

This motion has been signed by a total of 32 MPs.

Kirsten Oswald21/03/2016East RenfrewshireScottish National PartyProposed
Neil Gray21/03/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySeconded
Alan Brown21/03/2016Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySeconded
Richard Arkless21/03/2016Dumfries and GallowayScottish National PartySeconded
Phil Boswell21/03/2016Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySeconded
Ian Blackford21/03/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySeconded
Steven Paterson21/03/2016StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon21/03/2016StrangfordDUPSigned
Mark Durkan21/03/2016FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Callum McCaig21/03/2016Aberdeen SouthScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell21/03/2016LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan21/03/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands21/03/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Michelle Thomson21/03/2016Edinburgh WestScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens21/03/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law21/03/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald21/03/2016Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson21/03/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
George Kerevan21/03/2016East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Peter Bottomley22/03/2016Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Margaret Ritchie22/03/2016South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara23/03/2016Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock23/03/2016Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Stuart Donaldson23/03/2016West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Alasdair McDonnell23/03/2016Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Angus MacNeil23/03/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley23/03/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day23/03/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson23/03/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows24/03/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh11/04/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins11/04/2016North East FifeScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.