Parliament Website

Scottish Steel Taskforce

EDM number 1366 in 2015-16, proposed by Marion Fellows on 12/04/2016.
Categorised under the topic of Manufacturing industries.

That this House recognises the Scottish Government's extensive efforts in finding a new owner for the steelworks at Dalzell and Clydebridge in Lanarkshire, including the establishment of the Scottish Steel Task Force, which was a constructive group of partners including Tata Steel, North and South Lanarkshire Councils, trade unions, political parties, the UK Government, Scottish Enterprise, Skills Development Scotland and PACE; further recognises the work carried out to encourage prospective buyers by actions such as energy efficiency measures, securing a reduction of business rates and a staff retraining fund for retained staff of £195,000; congratulates and thanks all bodies involved in securing a future for steel in Scotland resulting in retaining jobs, including Tata Steel, Dalzell and Clydebridge steelworkers and their families and trade unions; welcomes the statement by Liberty House who agreed that this would not have happened without the efforts of the Scottish Government; and particularly congratulates and recognises the efforts of Energy Minister Fergus Ewing and First Minister Nicola Sturgeon in fulfilling their vow of leaving no stone unturned in finding a new owner for Scotland's steel works, forging a bright, new era for an iconic and key industry of Scotland's economy.

This motion has been signed by a total of 46 MPs.

Marion Fellows12/04/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartyProposed
Neil Gray12/04/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySeconded
Margaret Ferrier12/04/2016Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySeconded
Hannah Bardell12/04/2016LivingstonScottish National PartySeconded
Owen Thompson12/04/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySeconded
Michael Weir12/04/2016AngusScottish National PartySeconded
Stewart McDonald12/04/2016Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald12/04/2016Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry12/04/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Calum Kerr12/04/2016Berwickshire, Roxburgh and SelkirkScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh12/04/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart12/04/2016Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard12/04/2016Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown12/04/2016Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
George Kerevan12/04/2016East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant12/04/2016GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady12/04/2016Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Stuart Donaldson12/04/2016West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Lisa Cameron12/04/2016East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day12/04/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Patricia Gibson12/04/2016North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson12/04/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Phil Boswell12/04/2016Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Richard Arkless12/04/2016Dumfries and GallowayScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law12/04/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford12/04/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins12/04/2016North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss13/04/2016Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil13/04/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan13/04/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts13/04/2016Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Jonathan Edwards13/04/2016Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Chris Stephens13/04/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman13/04/2016Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon14/04/2016StrangfordDUPSigned
Paul Flynn14/04/2016Newport WestLabourSigned
Angela Crawley18/04/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands18/04/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry19/04/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Alasdair McDonnell21/04/2016Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
John Nicolson25/04/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty25/04/2016West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Hywel Williams25/04/2016ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
John McNally25/04/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham27/04/2016Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Anne McLaughlin11/05/2016Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.