Parliament Website

Foreign Ownership Of Rail Services In The North

EDM number 148 in 2015-16, proposed by Ian Lavery on 17/06/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Companies and Railways.

That this House is concerned that despite almost half a billion pounds leaking out to shareholders from the privately run Northern Rail and TransPennine Express services, rail services in the North are to be privatised again and also handed over to Dutch, French or German owners; is dismayed that this will mean private rail companies and other countries' railways will make big profits, while rail passengers in the North will endure higher fares, fewer services and overcrowded trains; is further dismayed this will mean trains will no longer have a guard to protect the train, while ticket offices could be closed and station staff cut; and calls for a publicly owned People's Railway in the North run under public ownership in the interest of passengers and communities.

This motion has been signed by a total of 27 MPs.

Ian Lavery17/06/2015WansbeckLabourProposed
Ian Mearns17/06/2015GatesheadLabourSeconded
Cat Smith17/06/2015Lancaster and FleetwoodLabourSeconded
John McDonnell17/06/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins17/06/2015Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Grahame Morris17/06/2015EasingtonLabourSeconded
Angela Rayner17/06/2015Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Rebecca Long-Bailey17/06/2015Salford and EcclesLabourSigned
Jo Stevens17/06/2015Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Gerald Kaufman17/06/2015Manchester, GortonLabourSigned
Liz McInnes17/06/2015Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Ruth Smeeth17/06/2015Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Alan Meale18/06/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
Mary Glindon18/06/2015North TynesideLabourSigned
David Anderson18/06/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
Jim Shannon18/06/2015StrangfordDUPSigned
Dennis Skinner18/06/2015BolsoverLabourSigned
Graham Stringer18/06/2015Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Chris Matheson22/06/2015City of ChesterLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn23/06/2015Islington NorthLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn24/06/2015JarrowLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell24/06/2015Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Imran Hussain25/06/2015Bradford EastLabourSigned
Rachael Maskell29/06/2015York CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
David Crausby21/07/2015Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Melanie Onn07/09/2015Great GrimsbyLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper08/09/2015West LancashireLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.