Parliament Website

Day Of The Seafarer 2015

EDM number 180 in 2015-16, proposed by Cat Smith on 24/06/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Employment, Pay and Shipping.

That this House supports the International Maritime Organisation's Day of the Seafarer on 25 June 2015; notes that 1.5 million merchant seafarers move 90 per cent of the world's traded goods every year in an exceptionally hazardous and unevenly regulated industry; is concerned that there is a global shortage of seafarers ahead of a forecast doubling in sea trade over the next 20 years; further notes that UK seafarers account for only 1.5 per cent, or just under 23,000, of the international workforce, the result of a 60 per cent fall since 1982; further notes that the welcome quadrupling in the number of ships registered under the UK flag resulting from the introduction of the tonnage tax in 2000-01 has accrued a £1.6 billion tax concession for the international shipping industry; further notes that over 2,300 of the 7,500 vessels inspected by the International Workers Federation across the world in 2013-14 breached provisions of the Maritime Labour Convention, particularly on the payment of wages; and calls on the Government to support Day of the Seafarer by committing to pursue domestic and international policies that further improve employment, safety and equality rights of UK and international seafarers.

This motion has been signed by a total of 34 MPs.

Cat Smith24/06/2015Lancaster and FleetwoodLabourProposed
John McDonnell24/06/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Karl Turner24/06/2015Kingston upon Hull EastLabourSeconded
Ian Lavery24/06/2015WansbeckLabourSeconded
Ruth Smeeth24/06/2015Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSeconded
Angela Rayner24/06/2015Ashton-under-LyneLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan24/06/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Clive Lewis24/06/2015Norwich SouthLabourSigned
Gerald Kaufman24/06/2015Manchester, GortonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn24/06/2015Islington NorthLabourSigned
Grahame Morris24/06/2015EasingtonLabourSigned
Liz Saville Roberts25/06/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Kelvin Hopkins25/06/2015Luton NorthLabourSigned
Michael Weir25/06/2015AngusScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon25/06/2015StrangfordDUPSigned
Jonathan Edwards25/06/2015Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Ian Mearns25/06/2015GatesheadLabourSigned
Chris Stephens29/06/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Hywel Williams29/06/2015ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Mary Glindon29/06/2015North TynesideLabourSigned
Paul Flynn29/06/2015Newport WestLabourSigned
Chris Law29/06/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Liz McInnes29/06/2015Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Rachael Maskell29/06/2015York CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Patrick Grady30/06/2015Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry30/06/2015Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell01/07/2015Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
David Anderson01/07/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
Alan Meale01/07/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
Richard Arkless01/07/2015Dumfries and GallowayScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan01/07/2015Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Richard Burgon01/07/2015Leeds EastLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff06/07/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
David Crausby21/07/2015Bolton North EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.