Parliament Website

Hatfield Colliery Closure (No. 2)

EDM number 235 in 2015-16, proposed by Ian Lavery on 01/07/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Coal, Employment and Industry.

That this House is disappointed and deeply saddened by the announcement that employee-owned Hatfield Colliery has ceased production following a refusal by the Government to provide the required financial assistance; deeply regrets the imminent loss of the jobs of 428 miners and support staff, the impact this will have on the supply chain and the wider community; and urges the Government immediately to intervene, providing additional funding to secure the future of deep mining at the colliery.

This motion has been signed by a total of 29 MPs.

Ian Lavery01/07/2015WansbeckLabourProposed
Edward Miliband01/07/2015Doncaster NorthLabourSeconded
Dennis Skinner01/07/2015BolsoverLabourSeconded
Ronnie Campbell01/07/2015Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
David Anderson01/07/2015BlaydonLabourSeconded
Grahame Morris01/07/2015EasingtonLabourSeconded
Pat Glass01/07/2015North West DurhamLabourSigned
Mark Durkan01/07/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jo Stevens01/07/2015Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn01/07/2015JarrowLabourSigned
Alan Meale01/07/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins01/07/2015Luton NorthLabourSigned
Richard Burgon01/07/2015Leeds EastLabourSigned
Ian Mearns01/07/2015GatesheadLabourSigned
Chris Stephens02/07/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Kevin Barron02/07/2015Rother ValleyLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham02/07/2015Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Jim Shannon02/07/2015StrangfordDUPSigned
Rachael Maskell02/07/2015York CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Graham Stringer02/07/2015Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Liz McInnes02/07/2015Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Owen Thompson06/07/2015MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
George Kerevan06/07/2015East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards06/07/2015Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Keith Vaz06/07/2015Leicester EastLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma06/07/2015Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Marie Rimmer08/07/2015St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn09/07/2015Islington NorthLabourSigned
Chris Law13/07/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.