Parliament Website

Purdah Period For EU Referendum

EDM number 282 in 2015-16, proposed by Alex Salmond on 09/07/2015.
Categorised under the topic of EU law and treaties.

That this House notes the tabling of a New Clause in the name of the right hon. Member for Camberwell and Peckham for Report Stage of the EU Referendum Bill concerning the implementation of a purdah period for the referendum campaign; recalls that on day one of the Committee Stage of that Bill, when a division was called on an amendment in the name of the hon. Member for Stone that sought to apply a purdah period, the Official Opposition abstained on that vote; further notes that if hon. Members from the Official Opposition had not abstained on that vote, the Government's policy not to apply a purdah period would have been defeated; believes that this was a missed opportunity to have defeated the Government position; welcomes the conversion of the Official Opposition on this matter; expresses the hope that Parliament will recognise the need for a purdah period to ensure a fair and balanced referendum campaign; and urges hon. Members from the Official Opposition to vote with hon. Members from the SNP to secure this outcome.

This motion has been signed by a total of 40 MPs.

Alex Salmond09/07/2015Proposed
Stephen Gethins09/07/2015North East FifeScottish National PartySeconded
Tasmina Sheikh09/07/2015Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySeconded
Patrick Grady09/07/2015Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Ronnie Cowan13/07/2015InverclydeScottish National PartySeconded
Margaret Ferrier13/07/2015Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySeconded
Tommy Sheppard13/07/2015Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Kirsten Oswald13/07/2015East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford13/07/2015Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan13/07/2015Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry13/07/2015Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Eilidh Whiteford13/07/2015Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford13/07/2015Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law13/07/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
John McNally13/07/2015FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara13/07/2015Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day13/07/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts13/07/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Michael Weir13/07/2015AngusScottish National PartySigned
Roger Mullin14/07/2015Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands14/07/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss14/07/2015Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
George Kerevan14/07/2015East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens14/07/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty14/07/2015West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson15/07/2015Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Lisa Cameron15/07/2015East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Stuart Donaldson15/07/2015West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Michelle Thomson16/07/2015Edinburgh WestScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan16/07/2015Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Phil Boswell16/07/2015Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray16/07/2015Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Natalie McGarry20/07/2015Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman20/07/2015Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Patricia Gibson20/07/2015North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown20/07/2015Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Hywel Williams20/07/2015ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Mhairi Black21/07/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Anne McLaughlin17/09/2015Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley11/05/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.