Parliament Website

Allowances For Asylum Seeking Children

EDM number 344 in 2015-16, proposed by John McDonnell on 20/07/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Asylum, Benefits policy, Children and families and Incomes and poverty.

That this House condemns the 30 per cent cut in the daily allowance of asylum seeking children from £7.50 to £5.20; notes that this cut goes against the High Court judgment of 9 April 2014 that the Government assessment omitted the cost of essential items such as nappies; deplores this disregard for children's welfare; is concerned that 35 per cent of homeless women seeking asylum have been raped or sexually assaulted in the UK and that having to depend on others to feed children increases the risk of exploitation, prostitution and begging; further notes that the financial support offered to asylum seekers amounts to only 51 per cent of the lowest poverty line benefits offered to UK residents; commends the work of Rev. Paul Nicolson to establish minimum income standards which do not leave people hungry; considers that any measure pushing children and their carers into absolute poverty should not be taken without a debate and vote in Parliament; and calls on the Government to withdraw this cut in support for children.

This motion has been signed by a total of 68 MPs.

John McDonnell20/07/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourProposed
Mark Durkan20/07/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Margaret Ritchie20/07/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Stuart McDonald21/07/2015Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySeconded
Brendan O'Hara21/07/2015Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySeconded
Kirsten Oswald21/07/2015East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySeconded
Alan Meale21/07/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
Greg Mulholland21/07/2015Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Chris Law21/07/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Caroline Lucas21/07/2015Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Gordon Marsden21/07/2015Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Alison Thewliss21/07/2015Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Alex Salmond21/07/2015Signed
David Anderson21/07/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn21/07/2015Islington NorthLabourSigned
Ian Blackford21/07/2015Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Natalie McGarry21/07/2015Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson21/07/2015MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown21/07/2015Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Virendra Sharma21/07/2015Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Paul Monaghan21/07/2015Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir21/07/2015AngusScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman21/07/2015Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Eilidh Whiteford21/07/2015Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray21/07/2015Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black21/07/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry21/07/2015Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Gerald Kaufman07/09/2015Manchester, GortonLabourSigned
Rachael Maskell07/09/2015York CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
John McNally07/09/2015FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Alex Cunningham07/09/2015Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Tasmina Sheikh07/09/2015Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry07/09/2015Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Roger Mullin07/09/2015Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff07/09/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins07/09/2015Luton NorthLabourSigned
Vicky Foxcroft07/09/2015Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Lisa Cameron07/09/2015East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Richard Burgon07/09/2015Leeds EastLabourSigned
Paul Blomfield07/09/2015Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Ian Mearns07/09/2015GatesheadLabourSigned
Jeff Smith07/09/2015Manchester, WithingtonLabourSigned
Catherine West07/09/2015Hornsey and Wood GreenLabourSigned
Gavin Newlands07/09/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Thangam Debbonaire07/09/2015Bristol WestLabourSigned
Kate Hoey08/09/2015VauxhallLabourSigned
Ronnie Cowan08/09/2015InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens08/09/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Alasdair McDonnell08/09/2015Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Angela Crawley08/09/2015Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant08/09/2015GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Stuart Donaldson08/09/2015West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Mike Gapes08/09/2015Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Emily Thornberry09/09/2015Islington South and FinsburyLabourSigned
Callum McCaig09/09/2015Aberdeen SouthScottish National PartySigned
Hywel Williams09/09/2015ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Ruth Smeeth09/09/2015Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Fabian Hamilton09/09/2015Leeds North EastLabourSigned
Carol Monaghan09/09/2015Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Jo Stevens09/09/2015Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Marion Fellows10/09/2015Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Daniel Zeichner10/09/2015CambridgeLabourSigned
Martin Docherty10/09/2015West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Ian Lavery10/09/2015WansbeckLabourSigned
Geraint Davies15/09/2015Swansea WestLabourSigned
Phil Boswell15/09/2015Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Yasmin Qureshi26/10/2015Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Corri Wilson15/12/2015Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.