Parliament Website

Cuts In Benefits

EDM number 349 in 2015-16, proposed by Alan Meale on 20/07/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Benefits policy, Sickness, disability and carers' benefits and Working age benefits.

That this House is disappointed to learn that the Government is planning to cut support for people placed in the work related activity group (WRAG) of employment and support allowance from April 2017, down to the rates paid to people on jobseeker's allowance (JSA); notes that half of the people placed in WRAG, around 250,000 in total, are claiming because of a mental health problem and receive just over £5,000 per annum, compared to the amount paid to JSA clients who have to live on only £3,500 per annum and that whereas people receiving JSA tend on average to move off their benefit within a six month period, in contrast 60 per cent of WRAG claimants need their support for at least two years; and calls on the Government to desist from taking such stupid, callous and wrong directions and instead give people unfortunate to be found in this category the support they need to help them return to work and normality.

This motion has been signed by a total of 58 MPs.

Alan Meale20/07/2015MansfieldLabourProposed
David Crausby20/07/2015Bolton North EastLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan20/07/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Margaret Ritchie20/07/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
John McDonnell20/07/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Dennis Skinner21/07/2015BolsoverLabourSeconded
Philippa Whitford21/07/2015Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Natalie McGarry21/07/2015Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon21/07/2015StrangfordDUPSigned
Chris Law21/07/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts21/07/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Owen Thompson21/07/2015MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Caroline Lucas21/07/2015Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Alison Thewliss21/07/2015Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Richard Burgon21/07/2015Leeds EastLabourSigned
Alex Salmond21/07/2015Signed
David Anderson21/07/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn21/07/2015Islington NorthLabourSigned
Ian Blackford21/07/2015Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry21/07/2015Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black21/07/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray21/07/2015Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Eilidh Whiteford21/07/2015Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman21/07/2015Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir21/07/2015AngusScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan21/07/2015Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Virendra Sharma21/07/2015Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Calum Kerr21/07/2015Berwickshire, Roxburgh and SelkirkScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown21/07/2015Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Lisa Cameron07/09/2015East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Roger Mullin07/09/2015Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh07/09/2015Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
John McNally07/09/2015FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins07/09/2015Luton NorthLabourSigned
Gavin Newlands07/09/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Hepburn07/09/2015JarrowLabourSigned
Rachael Maskell07/09/2015York CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Stuart Donaldson08/09/2015West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
George Kerevan08/09/2015East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant08/09/2015GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Alasdair McDonnell08/09/2015Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Chris Stephens08/09/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan08/09/2015InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Andrew McDonald08/09/2015MiddlesbroughLabourSigned
Hywel Williams09/09/2015ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Callum McCaig09/09/2015Aberdeen SouthScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan09/09/2015Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Ian Lavery10/09/2015WansbeckLabourSigned
Martin Docherty10/09/2015West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Justin Madders10/09/2015Ellesmere Port and NestonLabourSigned
Marion Fellows10/09/2015Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham10/09/2015Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff11/09/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Paul Flynn15/09/2015Newport WestLabourSigned
Imran Hussain21/10/2015Bradford EastLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi26/10/2015Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Corri Wilson15/12/2015Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley11/05/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.