Parliament Website

Football Clubs And The Living Wage

EDM number 355 in 2015-16, proposed by Clive Betts on 20/07/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Pay and Sports.

That this House welcomes the decision of Premier League football to pay a living wage; notes that this will not be introduced until the 2016-17 season; applauds the work of the GMB's End Foul Pay campaign highlighting this issue; further notes the findings of a Survation poll of football fans showing 84 per cent of supporters want Premier League and Football League clubs to pay the living wage; further notes that according to figures published by Deloitte the last recorded season 2013-14, combined revenues of English Premier League clubs increased 29 per cent and increased by 12 per cent in the Championship; believes the wealth within football means that clubs can well afford to pay all their contracted and sub-contracted workers a living wage in the forthcoming 2015-16; supports the trades unions campaigning and organising workers across the sports sectors which often possess enormous inequalities; and encourages Premier League and Football League clubs to end foul pay and become living wage employers for the new season.

This motion has been signed by a total of 40 MPs.

Clive Betts20/07/2015Sheffield South EastLabourProposed
Jo Stevens20/07/2015Cardiff CentralLabourSeconded
Ruth Smeeth20/07/2015Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSeconded
Clive Lewis20/07/2015Norwich SouthLabourSeconded
Rebecca Long-Bailey20/07/2015Salford and EcclesLabourSeconded
Richard Burgon20/07/2015Leeds EastLabourSeconded
Grahame Morris20/07/2015EasingtonLabourSigned
John McDonnell20/07/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley20/07/2015Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Cat Smith20/07/2015Lancaster and FleetwoodLabourSigned
Emma Lewell-Buck20/07/2015South ShieldsLabourSigned
Ian Mearns20/07/2015GatesheadLabourSigned
Paula Sherriff20/07/2015DewsburyLabourSigned
Harry Harpham20/07/2015Sheffield, Brightside and HillsboroughLabourSigned
Louise Haigh20/07/2015Sheffield, HeeleyLabourSigned
Angela Rayner20/07/2015Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Alan Meale21/07/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
Paul Blomfield21/07/2015Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn21/07/2015Islington NorthLabourSigned
David Anderson21/07/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
Alex Salmond21/07/2015Signed
Caroline Lucas21/07/2015Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Jim Shannon21/07/2015StrangfordDUPSigned
Jonathan Edwards21/07/2015Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Virendra Sharma21/07/2015Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner21/07/2015BolsoverLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds21/07/2015Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Mark Durkan07/09/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Chris Law07/09/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford07/09/2015Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins07/09/2015Luton NorthLabourSigned
Conor McGinn07/09/2015St Helens NorthLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie08/09/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Simpson08/09/2015Upper BannDUPSigned
Gavin Robinson08/09/2015Belfast EastDUPSigned
Neil Gray09/09/2015Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Ian Lavery10/09/2015WansbeckLabourSigned
Daniel Zeichner10/09/2015CambridgeLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff11/09/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Imran Hussain21/10/2015Bradford EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.