Parliament Website

1820 Radical War Memorial

EDM number 453 in 2015-16, proposed by Ronnie Cowan on 15/09/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Art works and Industrial relations.

That this House welcomes the official unveiling of artwork to commemorate the 1820 Radical War which takes place on 25 September 2015 at Cathcart Square, Greenock in Inverclyde; notes the Radical War, also known as the Scottish Insurrection of 1820, was a week of strikes and unrest, a culmination of Radical demands for reform in the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland; further notes the ringleaders were arrested and were transported to Greenock for trial and in one last act of Scottish defiance, the people of Greenock staged their own uprising, rescued the Paisley prisoners and spirited them away; and acknowledges the decision by Inverclyde Council and Riverside Inverclyde to commemorate the event and wishes all those involved every success.

This motion has been signed by a total of 39 MPs.

Ronnie Cowan15/09/2015InverclydeScottish National PartyProposed
Gavin Newlands15/09/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Phil Boswell15/09/2015Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySeconded
Corri Wilson15/09/2015Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySeconded
Hannah Bardell15/09/2015LivingstonScottish National PartySeconded
Michelle Thomson15/09/2015Edinburgh WestScottish National PartySeconded
Natalie McGarry15/09/2015Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black15/09/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady15/09/2015Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows15/09/2015Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Steven Paterson15/09/2015StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Callum McCaig15/09/2015Aberdeen SouthScottish National PartySigned
Roger Mullin15/09/2015Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Richard Arkless15/09/2015Dumfries and GallowayScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson15/09/2015MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford15/09/2015Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss15/09/2015Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray15/09/2015Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard15/09/2015Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon16/09/2015StrangfordDUPSigned
Michael Weir16/09/2015AngusScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell16/09/2015Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Kirsten Oswald16/09/2015East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan16/09/2015Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan17/09/2015Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law17/09/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford17/09/2015Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
George Kerevan17/09/2015East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens17/09/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Anne McLaughlin17/09/2015Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySigned
John Woodcock12/10/2015Barrow and FurnessLabourSigned
Martyn Day12/10/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins13/10/2015North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale13/10/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
Brendan O'Hara14/10/2015Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh14/10/2015Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff14/10/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Margaret Ferrier04/11/2015Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley11/05/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.