Parliament Website

Report By The Commission On Civil Society And Democratic Engagement

EDM number 471 in 2015-16, proposed by Martin Docherty on 16/09/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Charities, Elections, House of Commons and Legislative process.

That this House notes the publication of a report by The Commission on Civil Society and Democratic Engagement on the impact of the Lobbying Act on civil society and democratic engagement during the run-up to the 2015 general election; acknowledges that over 50 charities and campaign groups provided evidence to the Commission, with a significant number indicating that they took a step back from campaigning during the general election campaign; and believes that these findings raise very serious questions over the impact of the Transparency of Lobbying, Non-Party Campaigning and Trade Union Administration Act 2014 and that the recommendations of the report, that Part 2 of the Lobbying Act be repealed, or at least suspended before the May 2016 devolved administration elections in Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland, and London, must come under serious consideration by the Government.

This motion has been signed by a total of 35 MPs.

Martin Docherty16/09/2015West DunbartonshireScottish National PartyProposed
Patrick Grady16/09/2015Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Law16/09/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySeconded
Kirsten Oswald16/09/2015East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySeconded
Steven Paterson16/09/2015StirlingScottish National PartySeconded
Douglas Chapman16/09/2015Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySeconded
Neil Gray16/09/2015Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Calum Kerr16/09/2015Berwickshire, Roxburgh and SelkirkScottish National PartySigned
Roger Mullin16/09/2015Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Patricia Gibson16/09/2015North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands16/09/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Phil Boswell16/09/2015Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown16/09/2015Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan16/09/2015InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald16/09/2015Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Michelle Thomson16/09/2015Edinburgh WestScottish National PartySigned
Caroline Lucas17/09/2015Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Alison Thewliss17/09/2015Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford17/09/2015Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir17/09/2015AngusScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens17/09/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan17/09/2015Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson12/10/2015MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry12/10/2015Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day12/10/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Mark Durkan12/10/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
George Kerevan13/10/2015East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins13/10/2015North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
John McNally13/10/2015FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan14/10/2015Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Richard Arkless14/10/2015Dumfries and GallowayScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh14/10/2015Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black29/10/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Yasmin Qureshi02/11/2015Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Angela Crawley11/05/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.