Parliament Website

Alcohol-Related Violence

EDM number 601 in 2015-16, proposed by Kelvin Hopkins on 26/10/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Alcoholism and Crimes of violence.

That this House takes note of the report by the Institute of Alcohol Studies on alcohol-related violence, published on 26 October 2015; notes that the Institute surveyed nearly 5,000 police officers, ambulance staff, NHS medical staff and firefighters in preparing the report; is seriously concerned that 53 per cent of police officers' time and 37 per cent of ambulance staff time was taken up tackling problems arising from alcohol; is appalled that three quarters of police staff and 50 per cent of ambulance staff have been injured while handling drink-related violence and that there was a culture of fear among emergency service workers about being attacked when dealing with alcohol-related incidents; acknowledges that the majority of police officers blamed the introduction of 24-hour licensing in 2005 for drink-related crime; and therefore supports police officers in urging the Government to call time on 24-hour licensing and restore the traditional closing time of 11pm for pubs and 2am to 3am for clubs.

This motion has been signed by a total of 19 MPs.

Kelvin Hopkins26/10/2015Luton NorthLabourProposed
Fiona Bruce26/10/2015CongletonConservativeSeconded
Jim Shannon27/10/2015StrangfordDUPSeconded
Martyn Day27/10/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Ronnie Campbell27/10/2015Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Andrew McDonald27/10/2015MiddlesbroughLabourSeconded
Ian Mearns27/10/2015GatesheadLabourSigned
Kate Hoey27/10/2015VauxhallLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner27/10/2015BolsoverLabourSigned
Liz McInnes27/10/2015Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
John Cryer27/10/2015Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
David Simpson28/10/2015Upper BannDUPSigned
Alan Meale28/10/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
David Anderson29/10/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
Fiona Mactaggart29/10/2015SloughLabourSigned
Paul Monaghan29/10/2015Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts29/10/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Roger Godsiff04/11/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
David Crausby28/01/2016Bolton North EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.