Parliament Website

Reduced Price Of Christmas Card Stamps

EDM number 631 in 2015-16, proposed by Nigel Evans on 02/11/2015.
Categorised under the topic of Postal services.

That this House recognises that with 900 million festive cards sold in the UK each year, the sending and receiving of Christmas cards is one of the great traditions of the festive season; notes that sales have declined by over 100 million from 1.02 billion in 2005; is concerned that the current price of 62 pence for a second class stamp will deter members of the public from continuing this tradition and instead use e-cards and social media; and therefore believes that this tradition should be recognised by the Royal Mail by introducing a 25 pence Christmas stamp, that if sent between 1 December and 14 December 2015 is guaranteed to arrive before Christmas Day, thus helping to reverse the downward trend in the numbers of cards sent each year.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs.

Nigel Evans02/11/2015Ribble ValleyConservativeProposed
Cheryl Gillan02/11/2015Chesham and AmershamConservativeSeconded
Stewart McDonald02/11/2015Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySeconded
David Davies02/11/2015MonmouthConservativeSeconded
Pat Glass02/11/2015North West DurhamLabourSeconded
Wayne David02/11/2015CaerphillyLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley02/11/2015Worthing WestConservativeSigned
David Simpson03/11/2015Upper BannDUPSigned
Martyn Day03/11/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford03/11/2015Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards03/11/2015Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Jim Shannon03/11/2015StrangfordDUPSigned
Chris Law04/11/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black04/11/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry04/11/2015Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Nigel Dodds04/11/2015Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Gavin Robinson04/11/2015Belfast EastDUPSigned
Paul Monaghan04/11/2015Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Steven Paterson04/11/2015StirlingScottish National PartySigned
David Anderson04/11/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
Alan Meale04/11/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
Mark Durkan04/11/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Stephen Gethins05/11/2015North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ritchie05/11/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Mary Glindon05/11/2015North TynesideLabourSigned
Chris Stephens06/11/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry06/11/2015Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh09/11/2015Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray10/11/2015Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan10/11/2015Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Maria Caulfield17/11/2015LewesConservativeSigned
Yasmin Qureshi20/11/2015Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Richard Arkless25/11/2015Dumfries and GallowayScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson26/11/2015Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Natalie McGarry10/12/2015Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
David Crausby28/01/2016Bolton North EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.