Parliament Website

Commonwealth War Grave Commission

EDM number 655 in 2015-16, proposed by Ian Mearns on 04/11/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Burial and cremation, Employment, Military operations, Pay, Pensions and Veterans.

That this House welcomes the dedication and commitment of staff working at the Commonwealth War Grave Commission (CWGC), and applauds the vital role they play in maintaining the dignity of the UK and Commonwealth war dead, particularly in the midst of the centenary celebrations of 2014 to 2018; is astonished by the decision of CWGC management to close the final salary pension scheme and move to a defined contribution scheme which will see some staff lose on average £6,000 year on year; commends the work of trades unions during the short consultation period who recommended several pension options to ensure their members working at the GWGC had safety in retirement, all of which were rejected by the management; is appalled that in the months before the planned scheme closure was announced, commission executives left the scheme with compensation of a 7.5 per cent increase as well as lump sums of £4,000 to £10,000; notes that the new Director General of the Commission has awarded herself a 50 per cent pay rise at a time when staff at the commission are facing cuts to their pensions of up to £120 per week; and therefore calls on the Government to intervene and permit CWGC staff to transfer to the ALPHA scheme, which other civil servants are part of, to ensure their financial safety in retirement.

This motion has been signed by a total of 13 MPs.

Ian Mearns04/11/2015GatesheadLabourProposed
David Anderson04/11/2015BlaydonLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins04/11/2015Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Ruth Smeeth04/11/2015Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSeconded
Nigel Dodds05/11/2015Belfast NorthDUPSeconded
Martyn Day05/11/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Jim Shannon05/11/2015StrangfordDUPSigned
Jim Cunningham05/11/2015Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Mary Glindon05/11/2015North TynesideLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner05/11/2015BolsoverLabourSigned
Jo Stevens06/11/2015Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Chris Stephens06/11/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald09/11/2015Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.