Parliament Website

Co-Operation Between The Governments Of Scotland And Malawi

EDM number 657 in 2015-16, proposed by Patrick Grady on 04/11/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Africa, International politics and government and Scottish Parliament.

That this House celebrates the 10th anniversary of the Cooperation Agreement between the Governments of Scotland and Malawi, signed in November 2005; notes that the Agreement outlines key areas in which the two countries work together for mutual benefit, including civic governance, sustainable economic development, health and education; further notes that the formal Agreement builds on over 156 years of informal co-operation and connection between the countries, dating back to David Livingstone's exploration of central Africa in 1859; welcomes the investment by the Scottish Government of over £55 million in Malawi over the last decade, which has added to the generous donations of people in Scotland to a wide range of projects in education, health, agriculture and renewable energy; believes that research from the Scotland Malawi Partnership, which estimates that over 300,000 Scots and two million Malawians benefit from this relationship each year, demonstrates the depth of social, economic and cultural connection between the two countries; and looks forward to continued partnership between Scotland and Malawi for many years to come.

This motion has been signed by a total of 37 MPs.

Patrick Grady04/11/2015Glasgow NorthScottish National PartyProposed
Angus Robertson04/11/2015MorayScottish National PartySeconded
Alex Salmond04/11/2015Seconded
Stephen Gethins04/11/2015North East FifeScottish National PartySeconded
Lisa Cameron04/11/2015East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySeconded
Tasmina Sheikh04/11/2015Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySeconded
Angus MacNeil04/11/2015Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara04/11/2015Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan04/11/2015Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford04/11/2015Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
John McNally04/11/2015FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Phil Boswell04/11/2015Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant04/11/2015GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Stuart Donaldson04/11/2015West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock05/11/2015Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon05/11/2015StrangfordDUPSigned
Ian Blackford05/11/2015Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Steven Paterson05/11/2015StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day05/11/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Mark Durkan06/11/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Chris Stephens06/11/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan06/11/2015Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ferrier06/11/2015Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale09/11/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
Martin Docherty09/11/2015West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law09/11/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss10/11/2015Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell10/11/2015LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Peter Bottomley10/11/2015Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Margaret Ritchie10/11/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Neil Gray10/11/2015Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry16/11/2015Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson16/11/2015MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Maria Caulfield17/11/2015LewesConservativeSigned
Corri Wilson26/11/2015Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Natalie McGarry10/12/2015Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley11/05/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.