Parliament Website

Arrest Of Mohammed Ismael Rasool

EDM number 740 in 2015-16, proposed by George Kerevan on 23/11/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Eastern Europe, Human rights, Middle East, Press and Prisons.

That this House is concerned at the arrest of Mohammed Ismael Rasool, a 24-year-old Iraqi Kurd, along with the two British journalists Jake Hanrahan and Phil Pendlebury, on 27 August 2015 in the south-eastern Turkish city of Diyarbakir; welcomes the release of the two British journalists 11 days after their arrest; regrets that the Turkish authorities have decided to extend the detention of Mr Rasool in a maximum security prison in Turkey on charges of assisting a terrorist organisation without yet announcing a date for his trial; notes with concern that the freedom of the press and the right of the media to operate is being overly restricted in some parts of the Turkish territory since the eruption of the Kurdish conflict in recent months; and urges the Government to continue pressing the Turkish authorities to respect their OSCE commitments as well as their international human rights obligations and to guarantee that Mr Rasool's case will be conducted according to international legal standards, as well as human rights standards.

This motion has been signed by a total of 24 MPs.

George Kerevan23/11/2015East LothianScottish National PartyProposed
Jim Shannon23/11/2015StrangfordDUPSeconded
Peter Bottomley23/11/2015Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Alan Meale24/11/2015MansfieldLabourSeconded
Margaret Ferrier24/11/2015Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySeconded
Martyn Day24/11/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Neil Gray24/11/2015Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts24/11/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Tommy Sheppard24/11/2015Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins25/11/2015Luton NorthLabourSigned
Chris Stephens25/11/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan25/11/2015Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black26/11/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Mary Glindon26/11/2015North TynesideLabourSigned
Chris Law26/11/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Anne McLaughlin30/11/2015Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySigned
Steven Paterson30/11/2015StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh30/11/2015Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry01/12/2015Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff01/12/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil03/12/2015Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell03/12/2015LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins09/12/2015North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley11/05/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.