Parliament Website

James Clerk Maxwell

EDM number 741 in 2015-16, proposed by Roger Mullin on 23/11/2015.
Categorised under the topic of Science.

That this House celebrates the 150th anniversary of the publication by the Royal Society of James Clerk Maxwell's Dynamical theory of the electromagnetic field, prepared for the Society's Anniversary Day on 30 November, St Andrew's Day, 1865; agrees with Albert Einstein that Maxwell's work was the most profound and the most fruitful that physics has experienced since the time of Newton; notes that his work laid the foundations for such fields as special relativity and quantum mechanics; further celebrates the fact that he published a huge range of scientific works throughout his life while finding time to write poetry and sing the songs of Robert Burns; and calls on the Government to find a suitable way of celebrating the life of this remarkable Scottish scientist.

This motion has been signed by a total of 32 MPs.

Roger Mullin23/11/2015Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartyProposed
Lisa Cameron23/11/2015East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySeconded
Paul Monaghan23/11/2015Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySeconded
Phil Boswell23/11/2015Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySeconded
George Kerevan23/11/2015East LothianScottish National PartySeconded
Marion Fellows23/11/2015Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySeconded
Stewart McDonald23/11/2015Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Peter Bottomley23/11/2015Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Margaret Ferrier24/11/2015Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day24/11/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law24/11/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford24/11/2015Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray24/11/2015Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty24/11/2015West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan25/11/2015Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens25/11/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands25/11/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman25/11/2015Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins25/11/2015Luton NorthLabourSigned
Mhairi Black26/11/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Alasdair McDonnell26/11/2015Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Alison Thewliss26/11/2015Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady26/11/2015Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford26/11/2015Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Anne McLaughlin30/11/2015Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySigned
Steven Paterson30/11/2015StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh30/11/2015Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry01/12/2015Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil03/12/2015Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell03/12/2015LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins09/12/2015North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley11/05/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.