Parliament Website

Reform Of Benefits Sanctions Process

EDM number 781 in 2015-16, proposed by Tasmina Sheikh on 26/11/2015.
Categorised under the topic of Benefits policy.

That this House recognises the need for people claiming benefits to follow the rules governing their eligibility; notes the fact that 50 per cent of appeals against benefits sanctions are upheld, and that many who face sanctions are not informed in writing prior to the sanction taking place; regrets the acute challenges faced by many who are subject to sanctions, and research which shows that this system is one of the underlying reasons behind the increase in the use of food banks across the UK; and calls on the Government to reform the system to ensure that no person or family is left without the means to buy food or heat their home as a result of benefits sanctions.

This motion has been signed by a total of 49 MPs.

Tasmina Sheikh26/11/2015Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartyProposed
Philippa Whitford26/11/2015Central AyrshireScottish National PartySeconded
George Kerevan26/11/2015East LothianScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Stephens26/11/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Patrick Grady26/11/2015Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Alex Salmond26/11/2015Seconded
Alison Thewliss26/11/2015Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock26/11/2015Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Richard Arkless26/11/2015Dumfries and GallowayScottish National PartySigned
Anne McLaughlin26/11/2015Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry26/11/2015Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Michelle Thomson26/11/2015Edinburgh WestScottish National PartySigned
Kirsten Oswald26/11/2015East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Eilidh Whiteford26/11/2015Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day26/11/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Steven Paterson26/11/2015StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson26/11/2015MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry26/11/2015Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown26/11/2015Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Calum Kerr26/11/2015Berwickshire, Roxburgh and SelkirkScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray26/11/2015Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara26/11/2015Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law26/11/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands26/11/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan30/11/2015Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black30/11/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards30/11/2015Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Alan Meale30/11/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
Margaret Ferrier30/11/2015Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Mark Durkan30/11/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ian Blackford01/12/2015Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Roger Mullin01/12/2015Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ritchie01/12/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Lady Hermon01/12/2015North DownIndependentSigned
Roger Godsiff01/12/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
John McNally02/12/2015FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Yasmin Qureshi02/12/2015Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Mary Glindon02/12/2015North TynesideLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell02/12/2015Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Corri Wilson03/12/2015Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan03/12/2015Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil03/12/2015Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell03/12/2015LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard04/12/2015Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Lisa Cameron09/12/2015East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Gregory Campbell09/12/2015East LondonderryDUPSigned
Stephen Gethins09/12/2015North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Imran Hussain17/12/2015Bradford EastLabourSigned
Angela Crawley11/05/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.