Parliament Website

Trident Replacement

EDM number 956 in 2015-16, proposed by Caroline Lucas on 13/01/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Arms control, Defence expenditure, Defence policy, Public expenditure and Ballistic missile defence.

That this House notes the publication of the Strategic Defence and Security Review and the National Security Strategy; further notes that the estimated cost of replacing the Vanguard Class of nuclear armed submarines has increased to £31 billion with a £10 billion contingency, and the date of entry into service for the successor submarines has been delayed; notes that the National Security Strategy states that there is currently no direct threat to the UK or its vital interests from states developing weapons of mass destruction; believes that nuclear weapons continue to be irrelevant to the threats faced in the 21st century; and calls on the Government to abandon plans to replace Trident and instead reallocate the money to other government departments.

This motion has been signed by a total of 56 MPs.

Caroline Lucas13/01/2016Brighton, PavilionGreenProposed
Alan Brown13/01/2016Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySeconded
Kirsten Oswald13/01/2016East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySeconded
Ronnie Campbell13/01/2016Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins13/01/2016Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Martin Docherty13/01/2016West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySeconded
Margaret Ferrier13/01/2016Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray13/01/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Patricia Gibson13/01/2016North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald13/01/2016Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady13/01/2016Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Mark Durkan13/01/2016FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Margaret Ritchie13/01/2016South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Carol Monaghan14/01/2016Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts14/01/2016Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Alison Thewliss14/01/2016Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan14/01/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry14/01/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law14/01/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson18/01/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard18/01/2016Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart18/01/2016Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry18/01/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black18/01/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Roger Mullin18/01/2016Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford18/01/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens18/01/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff19/01/2016Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Lisa Cameron19/01/2016East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
John McNally19/01/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir20/01/2016AngusScottish National PartySigned
Calum Kerr20/01/2016Berwickshire, Roxburgh and SelkirkScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley20/01/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara20/01/2016Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands20/01/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Phil Boswell25/01/2016Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day25/01/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Michelle Thomson27/01/2016Edinburgh WestScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock27/01/2016Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh01/02/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson01/02/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan02/02/2016InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil03/02/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford03/02/2016Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards08/02/2016Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Richard Arkless09/02/2016Dumfries and GallowayScottish National PartySigned
Anne McLaughlin10/02/2016Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson10/02/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Eilidh Whiteford11/02/2016Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Steven Paterson11/02/2016StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins25/02/2016North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell02/03/2016LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald02/03/2016Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Ruth Cadbury21/03/2016Brentford and IsleworthLabourSigned
Stuart Donaldson22/03/2016West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Mark Williams24/03/2016CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.