Parliament Website

Mishwar Amal - Journeys Of Hope For Syrian Refugees

EDM number 1054 in 2016-17, proposed by Patrick Grady on 13/03/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Asylum, Charities and Middle East.

That this House congratulates the efforts of Mishwar Amal, Journeys of Hope, which provides relief and support for communities in refugee camps located in the Akkar region of Lebanon, where nearly half the population consists of Syrian refugees; notes that the organisation, founded in May 2016 by Anthony Collins, originally from Glasgow, aims to improve the wellbeing of refugee families by developing their skills through the provision of creative projects, as well as other recreational activities, fostering links between Lebanese, Syrians and Palestinians; further notes that there are 500,000 Palestinians and 1.8 million Syrians living in settlements across Lebanon; commends Mishwar Amal for the integration of sustainable practices into its humanitarian and development efforts in the spirit of the 2015 UN sustainable development goals, strengthening capacities, self-reliance and solidarity among the communities; further notes in particular the work of the Mishwar Music Studio, a programme to create a fruitful and self-sustaining cycle for music development, production and marketing as well as a recycyling project involving skill-building for young women and men which integrates different communities facing similar challenges; further congratulates Mr Collins and the Mishwar Amal team on their efforts in strengthening communities in the face of economic and social hardships; wishes Mishwar Amal continued success in its attempt to improve the lives of refugees; and encourages others to work as hard as the Mishwar Amal team in providing support to those affected by humanitarian crises.

This motion has been signed by a total of 42 MPs.

Patrick Grady13/03/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartyProposed
Anne McLaughlin13/03/2017Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySeconded
Ian Blackford13/03/2017Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySeconded
Stuart McDonald13/03/2017Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySeconded
Roger Mullin13/03/2017Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySeconded
Kirsten Oswald13/03/2017East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySeconded
Kirsty Blackman13/03/2017Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan13/03/2017Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law13/03/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
John McNally13/03/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan13/03/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins13/03/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford13/03/2017Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Steven Paterson13/03/2017StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson13/03/2017Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty13/03/2017West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald13/03/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands13/03/2017Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss13/03/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir13/03/2017AngusScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day13/03/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows13/03/2017Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Alasdair McDonnell14/03/2017Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Margaret Ritchie14/03/2017South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Mark Durkan14/03/2017FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara14/03/2017Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens14/03/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon14/03/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Eilidh Whiteford15/03/2017Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Natalie McGarry15/03/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Hywel Williams16/03/2017ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Alex Salmond20/03/2017Signed
Angus MacNeil20/03/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell20/03/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray20/03/2017Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown20/03/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry22/03/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson22/03/2017MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson24/03/2017East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham27/03/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Joanna Cherry29/03/2017Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Rachael Maskell24/04/2017York CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.