Parliament Website

Somaliland Recognition

EDM number 28 in 2016-17, proposed by Stephen Doughty on 18/05/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Africa and International politics and government.

That this House congratulates the people of Somaliland as they celebrate the 25th anniversary of reclaiming their independence; recognises the strong historical ties between Somaliland and the United Kingdom; welcomes the strong cooperation between the UK Government and Somaliland through existing development aid and help in sustaining democratic institutions in Somaliland, in particular the work of the Department for International Development, the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and the British Armed Forces; believes that Somaliland has both earned and deserves a higher level of support and encouragement from the international community; calls on the Government to facilitate an independent review of the recognition of Somaliland as an independent country; and notes the impressive 25 year record of democratic development and governance, acting as a beacon of peace and stability within one of the world's more turbulent regional environments.

This motion has been signed by a total of 37 MPs.

Stephen Doughty18/05/2016Cardiff South and PenarthLabourProposed
Clive Betts18/05/2016Sheffield South EastLabourSeconded
Jeremy Lefroy18/05/2016StaffordConservativeSeconded
Stephen Twigg18/05/2016Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSeconded
Fiona Bruce18/05/2016CongletonConservativeSeconded
Rushanara Ali18/05/2016Bethnal Green and BowLabourSeconded
Patrick Grady19/05/2016Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon19/05/2016StrangfordDUPSigned
Liz Saville Roberts19/05/2016Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Joan Ryan19/05/2016Signed
Alan Meale23/05/2016MansfieldLabourSigned
Paul Monaghan23/05/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens23/05/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day23/05/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
John McNally23/05/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Carolyn Harris23/05/2016Swansea EastLabourSigned
Chuka Umunna23/05/2016StreathamLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil24/05/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Rupa Huq24/05/2016Ealing Central and ActonLabourSigned
Paul Flynn24/05/2016Newport WestLabourSigned
Joanna Cherry25/05/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray25/05/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Mary Glindon25/05/2016North TynesideLabourSigned
Alan Brown25/05/2016Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows25/05/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law26/05/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Jim Fitzpatrick26/05/2016Poplar and LimehouseLabourSigned
Tasmina Sheikh06/06/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Gill Furniss07/06/2016Sheffield, Brightside and HillsboroughLabourSigned
Stephen Timms07/06/2016East HamLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff08/06/2016Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Angela Crawley08/06/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Yasmin Qureshi21/07/2016Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Paul Blomfield05/09/2016Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Louise Haigh05/09/2016Sheffield, HeeleyLabourSigned
David Crausby13/10/2016Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Alex Salmond21/10/2016Signed

Download raw data as csv or xml.