Parliament Website

Report On The Volkswagen Emissions Scandal

EDM number 357 in 2016-17, proposed by Stewart McDonald on 19/07/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Companies, Consumers, Oil, petrol and natural gas, Pollution and Roads.

That this House notes the Third Report from the Transport Committee, on Volkswagen emissions scandal and vehicle type approvals, HC69, which criticises Volkswagen for its deception in the recent emissions scandal; recognises that the company acted with a cynical disregard for emissions limits which exist to protect human health; criticises Volkswagen's conduct for severely undermining consumer confidence; further notes concern at the Department for Transport's indecision on assessing the legality of Volkswagen's use of defeat device software; calls on Volkswagen to apologise to and compensate affected owners in the UK and Europe; urges the company to release the findings of its own internal investigation as soon as possible; and further calls on the Government to use its power to investigate and punish Volkswagen for its actions, guarantee that future vehicle type-approval system is more rigorous to restore consumer confidence and ensure that motorists are not financially penalised as a result of this scandal.

This motion has been signed by a total of 57 MPs.

Stewart McDonald19/07/2016Glasgow SouthScottish National PartyProposed
Calum Kerr19/07/2016Berwickshire, Roxburgh and SelkirkScottish National PartySeconded
John Nicolson19/07/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySeconded
Paula Sherriff19/07/2016DewsburyLabourSeconded
Stephen Gethins19/07/2016North East FifeScottish National PartySeconded
Patricia Gibson19/07/2016North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySeconded
Roger Mullin19/07/2016Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock19/07/2016Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald19/07/2016Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray19/07/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Stuart Donaldson19/07/2016West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown19/07/2016Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry19/07/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman19/07/2016Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford19/07/2016Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Anne McLaughlin19/07/2016Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty19/07/2016West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
John McNally19/07/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day19/07/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson19/07/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Mark Durkan19/07/2016FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
George Kerevan19/07/2016East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford19/07/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady19/07/2016Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson19/07/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands19/07/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry19/07/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell19/07/2016LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh19/07/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard19/07/2016Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Phil Boswell19/07/2016Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Steven Paterson19/07/2016StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley19/07/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara19/07/2016Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss19/07/2016Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows19/07/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman19/07/2016Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ritchie20/07/2016South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan20/07/2016InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon20/07/2016StrangfordDUPSigned
Kirsten Oswald20/07/2016East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens20/07/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale20/07/2016MansfieldLabourSigned
Michael Weir20/07/2016AngusScottish National PartySigned
Nigel Dodds21/07/2016Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Chris Law21/07/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black21/07/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ferrier21/07/2016Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant05/09/2016GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Eilidh Whiteford05/09/2016Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil05/09/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan06/09/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Alex Salmond07/09/2016Signed
Jim Cunningham07/09/2016Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Richard Arkless17/10/2016Dumfries and GallowayScottish National PartySigned
David Crausby25/10/2016Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards19/01/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.