Parliament Website


EDM number 396 in 2016-17, proposed by Chris Law on 05/09/2016.
Categorised under the topic of Benefits policy.

That this House condemns the treatment of UK citizens by Concentrix, a multi-billion pound American business services company contracted by HM Revenue and Customs to investigate alleged benefit fraud, paid on a results basis when it cuts the tax credit bill, profiting from stopping payments to those most in need; notes that thousands of people on low incomes, including many residents in Dundee West constituency, have been unfairly hounded by Concentrix and accused of cheating the benefits system by being wrongly accused of having a partner living with them and contributing to household income, and have had their tax credits suddenly cut off without warning causing an immense amount of stress and hardship and pushing many families into poverty; further notes that to reverse the sanctions families are required to gather an extensive amount of paperwork which can be difficult and can take a long time to collect leading to extended periods of sanctions; and urges the Government to investigate the conduct of Concentrix before more people experience the appalling consequences of the brutal and disrespectful approach toward the legitimate needs of that company on behalf of the Government.

This motion has been signed by a total of 54 MPs.

Stephen Hepburn05/01/2016JarrowLabourSigned
Chris Law05/09/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartyProposed
Roger Mullin05/09/2016Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySeconded
Pete Wishart05/09/2016Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySeconded
Callum McCaig05/09/2016Aberdeen SouthScottish National PartySeconded
Martyn Day05/09/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Paul Monaghan05/09/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySeconded
Patricia Gibson05/09/2016North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Mark Durkan05/09/2016FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan05/09/2016InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray05/09/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows05/09/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley05/09/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black05/09/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty05/09/2016West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan05/09/2016Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford05/09/2016Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard05/09/2016Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ritchie06/09/2016South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Chris Stephens06/09/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Caroline Lucas06/09/2016Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Brendan O'Hara06/09/2016Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh06/09/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
George Kerevan06/09/2016East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon06/09/2016StrangfordDUPSigned
Alan Brown07/09/2016Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady07/09/2016Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
John McNally07/09/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss07/09/2016Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Hywel Williams07/09/2016ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Alex Salmond07/09/2016Signed
Gavin Newlands07/09/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Calum Kerr07/09/2016Berwickshire, Roxburgh and SelkirkScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson07/09/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Anne McLaughlin07/09/2016Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham08/09/2016Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Natalie McGarry08/09/2016Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Doughty08/09/2016Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
Deidre Brock08/09/2016Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Angus Robertson12/09/2016MorayScottish National PartySigned
Helen Goodman12/09/2016Bishop AucklandLabourSigned
Stewart McDonald12/09/2016Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Phil Boswell12/09/2016Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell13/09/2016LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ferrier13/09/2016Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald14/09/2016Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Alasdair McDonnell14/09/2016Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Yasmin Qureshi15/09/2016Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Joanna Cherry10/10/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Stuart Donaldson10/10/2016West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil10/10/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry10/10/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins10/10/2016Luton NorthLabourSigned
John Nicolson24/10/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.