Parliament Website

Blacklisting Compensation Payments

EDM number 47 in 2016-17, proposed by Chris Stephens on 19/05/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Construction industry, Employment and Industrial relations.

That this House welcomes the recent public apology and admission of wrongdoing made by eight major construction firms in the High Court, and the settlement reached between the construction workers, Unite the Union, GMB and UCATT trade unions, the Blacklist Support Group and their legal teams with those construction firms that will mean that 771 blacklisted workers will share an estimated £50 million in compensation; praises the work of the Blacklist Support Group, the justice campaign and support network for those caught up in the UK construction industry blacklisting scandal; notes that trade unionists, safety campaigners, journalists, academics and environmental activists were all blacklisted by big business; further notes that blacklisting was exposed in 2009 after a raid on the offices of the Consulting Association that operated the blacklist on behalf of the major companies, and that trade union members were denied work over many years due to their trade union activity on previous building sites, raising concerns over asbestos, poor working conditions and unpaid wages; notes the investigation on this subject carried out by the Scottish Affairs Committee in the last Parliament; notes with concern media reports that senior police officers attended meetings of the blacklisting organisation; and calls on the Government to conduct a full public inquiry into the scandal of blacklisting.

This motion has been signed by a total of 34 MPs.

Chris Stephens19/05/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartyProposed
Martin Docherty23/05/2016West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySeconded
Alan Meale23/05/2016MansfieldLabourSeconded
Natalie McGarry23/05/2016Glasgow EastScottish National PartySeconded
Paul Monaghan23/05/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySeconded
Liz Saville Roberts23/05/2016Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Mark Durkan23/05/2016FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Alison Thewliss23/05/2016Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Ian Mearns23/05/2016GatesheadLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner23/05/2016BolsoverLabourSigned
Martyn Day23/05/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
John McNally23/05/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford24/05/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil24/05/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Robert Flello24/05/2016Stoke-on-Trent SouthLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie24/05/2016South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim Cunningham24/05/2016Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Paul Flynn24/05/2016Newport WestLabourSigned
Chris Matheson24/05/2016City of ChesterLabourSigned
Joanna Cherry25/05/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray25/05/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Mary Glindon25/05/2016North TynesideLabourSigned
Alan Brown25/05/2016Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows25/05/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law26/05/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald26/05/2016Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black26/05/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh06/06/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson06/06/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady06/06/2016Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley08/06/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff08/06/2016Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
John Cryer20/07/2016Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
David Crausby13/10/2016Bolton North EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.