Parliament Website

Hate Crime Awareness Week

EDM number 534 in 2016-17, proposed by Anne McLaughlin on 12/10/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Equality and Racial discrimination.

That this House welcomes the attention that Hate Crime Awareness Week gives to the impact of crimes that are motivated by prejudice of some kind, where the victim is targeted because they are a member of a particular social group or have a particular characteristic, which the perpetrator has negative views or beliefs, for example prejudice based on race, including nationality, ethnicity and skin colour, religion, sexual orientation, disability or transgender identity; notes the recent report by Independent Advisory Group on Hate Crime, Prejudice and Community Cohesion; regrets that hatred and prejudice continue to have very serious consequences for people and communities across society; recognises that hate crime is a threat to the basic values of an open democratic society; considers addressing prejudice and hate crime is therefore not only an issue for minorities or those who are targeted but must be a priority concern for the whole of society; applauds the work by Glasgow Community Safety and the Scottish Government in challenging prejudice and hate crime within the Scottish Strategy for Justice; further notes that hate crimes in Scotland fell in the aftermath of the referendum on membership of the EU despite a 14 per cent rise being recorded across the UK as a whole; and believes change will require political leadership, legal support and public policy and calls on all those in a position of influence including politicians and the media to exercise respect and sensitivity with regards to minority groups and to commit to actively discourage those who commit or ignore hate crimes.

This motion has been signed by a total of 45 MPs.

Phil Boswell05/01/2016Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara05/01/2016Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson05/01/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson05/01/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Anne McLaughlin12/10/2016Glasgow North EastScottish National PartyProposed
Deidre Brock12/10/2016Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySeconded
Michael Weir12/10/2016AngusScottish National PartySeconded
Stuart McDonald12/10/2016Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySeconded
Mark Durkan13/10/2016FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Liz Saville Roberts13/10/2016Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Douglas Chapman13/10/2016Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman13/10/2016Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry13/10/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day13/10/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon13/10/2016StrangfordDUPSigned
Ronnie Cowan13/10/2016InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ritchie17/10/2016South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Chris Stephens17/10/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale17/10/2016MansfieldLabourSigned
Ian Blackford17/10/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Richard Arkless17/10/2016Dumfries and GallowayScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald17/10/2016Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady17/10/2016Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray17/10/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford17/10/2016Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands17/10/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant17/10/2016GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
John McNally17/10/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard17/10/2016Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
David Simpson18/10/2016Upper BannDUPSigned
Chris Law18/10/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon18/10/2016North DownIndependentSigned
Alison Thewliss20/10/2016Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Kirsten Oswald20/10/2016East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Lisa Cameron20/10/2016East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil21/10/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan21/10/2016Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Alex Salmond21/10/2016Signed
Alan Brown21/10/2016Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson24/10/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty24/10/2016West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry25/10/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff26/10/2016Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Stephen Gethins27/10/2016North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell27/10/2016LivingstonScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.